The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reset MySQL db password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mobcdi, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am running
    cPanel Version 11.24.5-RELEASE
    cPanel Build 38506
    with
    Apache version 2.2.13 (Unix)
    PHP version 5.2.10
    MySQL version 5.0.81-community

    and can't find how to reset the password for an existing MySQL account, the MySQL screen allows to
    1. Add new database user
    2. Add user to a database
    But there doesn't seem to be an option to reset the dbpassword, I've also tried via phpmyadmin and the cpanel account logged in with doesn't see the privileges tab.

    Is there a package feature I need to include to allow MySQL password resets?
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There is no option to reset the database user from PHPMyAdmin as well as from cPanel. However, you can try to delete the database user from the cPanel and recreate it.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To change a password for a MySQL virtual user (a MySQL user created via cPanel), just create the same user again. The new user will overwrite the old user, and replace the old password in the process.
     
  4. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is there a way to test the MySQL account details to make sure the password I think is for the user is actually correct thus ruling out the uncertainty before actually using the accout details outside of cPanel?
     
  5. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I deleted the user account and added it back again and gave "All previliges" to the db.

    But I still can't use the account to connect to the db, the cms I'm trying says

    We were able to connect to the database server (which means your username and password is okay) but not able to select the database.
    Are you sure it exists?
    Does the user have permission to use the database?


    I've tried readding the privileges via cPanel but the error continues.
     
    #5 mobcdi, Oct 13, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2009
  6. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When i check the db via the host account I've found that the MySQL account I created using the cPanel wizard isn't given all privileges and is missing
    • Create View
    • Show View
    • Alter routine
    • Execute
    • Grant

    Grant is also listed as No,

    There is another DB user named after the cPanel account which has All privileges to the database I created with the database wizard

    Could there be 2 user accounts created as part of the wizard?
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The All Privileges option in the cPanel MySQL interface only grants all privileges displayed in the interface.
     
  8. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The Wizard only creates one MySQL user to my knowledge.

    What is the formatting of the two usernames?

    For example:
    1.) username_dbuser
    2.) username

    Regarding the additional privileges we are aware of the need and have the following related internal case IDs:
    #17834
    #31333
     
  9. mobcdi

    mobcdi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes the usernames follows the structure you outlined. I still can't place what exactly I was doing wrong but decided to delete the account via whm and recreated it entirely which seems to have cleaned my brain and the system
     
  10. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, then why doesn't the interface have:
    Create View
    Show View
    Alter routine
    Execute
    Grant
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Donald already addressed this in his post.
     
Loading...

Share This Page