The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resetting WHM password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kausik, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. Kausik

    Kausik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I took over a website recently and I'm trying to log onto WHM to change some stuff there but I don't know the WHM password. Is there any way for me to reset it? I have access to cPanel but not SSH. All the reset WHM password manuals, I've come across all require me to be inside WHM to change it but I can't get there. Thanks!!
     
  2. Arkaic

    Arkaic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you do not have SSH root or WHM access then you cannot change the password.
     
    Kausik likes this.
  3. Kausik

    Kausik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    oh thanks. do you know how to do it if I had SSH access? I should be getting that soon.
     
  4. Arkaic

    Arkaic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, just type:
    passwd
    Then you will be prompted for the new password.
     
    Kausik likes this.
  5. Kausik

    Kausik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very much!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,319
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can also change the root password via Web Host Manager once it's accessible:

    "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Change Root Password"

    Thank you.
     
  7. Kausik

    Kausik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Micheal. I will try that once I can log into my WHM. I don't know the password currently.
     
  8. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I think you will have to reset your root password through KVM console using single user mode OR contact your server provider. They will try to reset it for you.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,319
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, as mentioned, you will likely need to consult with your provider and request they change the root password on your behalf.

    Thank you.
     
  10. Kausik

    Kausik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My provider helped me with resetting the SSH password and now I have access to WHM as well. Thanks everyone!
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,319
    Likes Received:
    1,209
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
Loading...

Share This Page