The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

resize partition /usr

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by powerflash, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. powerflash

    powerflash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I have this partitions for my server:

    /dev/sda6 494M 8.1M 461M 2% /tmp
    /dev/sda1 1.5G 305M 1.1G 22% /
    /dev/sda3 9.7G 3.7G 5.5G 41% /usr
    /dev/sda7 118G 553M 112G 1% /home
    /dev/sda2 16G 764M 14G 6% /var

    WHM install new account in /usr partition, but i have partition /home with 118 GByte of space available, is possible resize the /usr partition?? or is possible install new account in partition /home ??

    thanks
    Alessio
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Once you have assigned the partitions you cannot change them. There are some hack work arounds to change partition sizes, but you will end up with an unstable machine. Your partition scheme isn't too bad, should work for a normal server.
     
  3. powerflash

    powerflash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I understande, but how I can use the partition /home?? (are 118 GByte unused).

    Alex
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The default consiguration should create accounts in /home anyway. IF they're not, check your settings in WHM > Edit Setup. If they're OK, you may have something unsual in your mount points - it would be helpful in that case if you could post your /etc/fstab file.
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your in trouble, this is a very complex process I gave been researching for months. You need to remove the mount on a larger partition then use a special program to to split the partition and remount the partition. You will have to back up the data in the mount your remove and the one your are moving.

    Basically you need to reformat or set up a cron to clean out the directory every night. :cool:

    Also /tmp should be 1 gig minimum for next time.
     
  6. powerflash

    powerflash Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok, Default Home Directory is setup "/home".

    files for accounts are located here, but the logs file for this accounts it is located in /usr, I have an account that produce every month about 5/6 GByte file log and it fills up the partition /usr.

    the logs file is located in /etc/httpd/domlogs, real path -> /usr/local/apache/domlogs
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can move domlogs to /home and symlink the directory if you want, with something like:

    mv /usr/local/apache/domlogs /home/
    ln -s /home/domlogs /usr/local/apache
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
     
Loading...

Share This Page