The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

resolv.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jollymon, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. jollymon

    jollymon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Howdy,

    I have my /etc/resolv.conf settings to

    nameserver 216.32.65.98
    nameserver 216.32.65.99


    Where those are my internal ns1 and ns2 that I have set in my nameserverips like so

    216.32.65.98=ns1.acidhosts.com
    216.32.65.99=ns2.acidhosts.com


    and In my /etc/wwwacct.conf the settings are like such


    ADDR 216.32.65.98
    CONTACTEMAIL killerip@hotmail.com
    CONTACTPAGER
    DEFMOD x
    ETHDEV
    FTPTYPE proftpd
    HOMEDIR /home
    HOMEMATCH home
    HOST host.acidhosts.com
    LOGSTYLE combined
    MINUID
    NS ns1.acidhosts.com
    NS2 ns2.acidhosts.com
    NS3
    NS4
    NSTTL 86400
    SCRIPTALIAS y
    TTL 14400


    and in my /etc/host


    # Do not remove the following line, or various programs
    # that require network functionality will fail.
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    216.32.65.98 host.acidhosts.com host


    and in my /etc/host.conf

    order hosts,bind


    and in my /var/named/acidhost.com.db

    ; Modified by Web Host Manager
    ; Zone File for acidhosts.com
    $TTL 14400
    @ 14400 IN SOA ns1.acidhosts.com. killerip.hotmail.com. (
    2006093008
    14400
    14400
    7200
    14400
    )

    acidhosts.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.acidhosts.com.
    acidhosts.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.acidhosts.com.

    ns1.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98
    ns2.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 216.32.65.99

    acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98

    localhost.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1

    acidhosts.com. 14400 IN MX 0 acidhosts.com.

    mail 14400 IN CNAME acidhosts.com.
    www 14400 IN CNAME acidhosts.com.
    ftp 14400 IN CNAME acidhosts.com.
    secure 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98
    www.secure 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98
    ns1 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98
    ns2 14400 IN A 216.32.65.99
    host 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98

    and in my /var/named/host.acidhosts.com.db

    ; Modified by Web Host Manager
    ; Zone File for host.acidhosts.com
    $TTL 14400
    @ 86400 IN SOA ns1.acidhosts.com. killerip.hotmail.com. (
    2006090802
    7200
    7200
    7200
    7200
    )

    host.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN NS ns1.acidhosts.com.
    host.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN NS ns2.acidhosts.com.

    host.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 216.32.65.98

    localhost.host.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1

    host.acidhosts.com. 14400 IN MX 0 host.acidhosts.com.




    DID I need to add my datacenters ns in here someplace? or do I just need to wait for the changes to propogate as everything seems to be setup right? I had A records at my old host pointing over to the new host, but something musta went wrong and its been down for a day. No worries however its just for me and my friends :D
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Did you make a backup of your resolv.conf before you edited it?
    Your datacenter should have provided the proper entrys for that for you.

    Your current dns is resolving to your old host still. You would need to
    update your registrars private name server IP's as well.

    Your NS records at the parent servers are:

    ns1.acidhosts.com. [72.36.193.82] [TTL=172800] [US]
    ns2.acidhosts.com. [72.36.193.83] [TTL=172800] [US]
     
  3. jollymon

    jollymon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I will assume that having my resolv.conf pointing back to my nameservers is not going to be something that works. They have taken access to my old server already and it appears that these records are still hanging in there.

    ns1.layeredtech.com - 216.39.90.2
    ns2.layeredtech.com - 216.39.90.3

    Can be used for local forward DNS servers.


    is something I found on there forums. Should these be the entries I have in the resolv.conf?

    I EDITED MY RESOLV.CONF TO LOOK EXACTLY LIKE

    72.36.190.2
    216.39.90.2
    72.36.191.2
    216.39.90.3

    and then restarted my named, I will just wait now and let it do its thing?
     
    #3 jollymon, Oct 1, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2006
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes that would work provided those servers have A records for your box.
    You should contact the DC and ask what you should use.

    dns report still shows your old ns A records. Did you update your registrar
    to your new box's NS A addresses?
     
    #4 jayh38, Oct 1, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2006
  5. jollymon

    jollymon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay updated at the registrar also, I see the error of my ways now, now that its too late:eek:
    YOU MUST UPDATE AT YOUR REGISTRAR, DONT MAKE THE MISTAKES I HAVE!
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    you also need to fix this

    ERROR: One or more of your nameservers reports that it is an open DNS server. This usually means that anyone in the world can query it for domains it is not authoritative for (it is possible that the DNS server advertises that it does recursive lookups when it does not, but that shouldn't happen).

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=50473
     
Loading...

Share This Page