The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

resolv.conf

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BLWS, Jul 28, 2002.

  1. BLWS

    BLWS Guest

    What should resolv.conf look like? Right now mine shows;

    domain darkorb.net
    search darkorb.net
    nameserver 205.162.50.248
    nameserver 66.96.193.2
    nameserver 66.96.194.2


    I dont think that is correct.. my server aint got nothing to do with that other than CPANEL and WHM.. anyone know about this stuff?
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    those are BURST's default nameserver set.

    Take 'em out and put in the machines that you want your box to resolve domain names from. If it's going to be a nameserver itself (a primary), then you'll want &127.0.0.1& leading off. (with some backup servers too)

    Then lock the file with
    chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf

    So it can't get overwritten by anything CPanel-ish, in the future.

    good luck!
     
  3. BLWS

    BLWS Guest

  4. SHSaeed

    SHSaeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All we have in /etc/resolv.conf is:

    nameserver 127.0.0.1
     
  5. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:d32fc09ae7][i:d32fc09ae7]Originally posted by (SH)Saeed[/i:d32fc09ae7]

    All we have in /etc/resolv.conf is:

    nameserver 127.0.0.1[/quote:d32fc09ae7]

    You have to put at least one external Name Server in resolv.conf (in addition to 127.0.0.1 localhost)

    Read this scenario:

    With just that line in the resolv.conf
    If your bind get down or is not functioning properly or during auto updating bind in Cpanel, Your server connection to the world would not be possible (unable to resolve)

    /etc/resolv.conf:

    domain domain.com
    search domain.com
    nameserver IP1
    nameserver IP2
    nameserver IP3
     
  6. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry to bring this old thread back, but I would appreciate if someone could please explain a bit more about the entries.

    Eg, what do the &domain& and &search& entries actually do?

    If I have the primary and secondary nameservers on the same server, should I have the IPs for those in the resolv.conf ? or just 127.0.0.1 ?

    Thanks

    - Omar
     
  7. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:c1cc3a5a10][i:c1cc3a5a10]Originally posted by Omar[/i:c1cc3a5a10]

    Sorry to bring this old thread back, but I would appreciate if someone could please explain a bit more about the entries.

    Eg, what do the &domain& and &search& entries actually do?

    If I have the primary and secondary nameservers on the same server, should I have the IPs for those in the resolv.conf ? or just 127.0.0.1 ?

    Thanks

    - Omar[/quote:c1cc3a5a10]
    I wrote a how-to: (click on the link)
    http://forums.cpanel.net/read.php?TID=5097&page=2#22154
     
Loading...

Share This Page