The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Resolved] cPanel update to 11.32.5.10 breaks RoundCube

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GuntherR, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. GuntherR

    GuntherR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After the latest cPanel update three hours ago from 11.32.4.15 to 11.32.5.10 RoundCube stopped working.

    After the webmail RoundCube log in I get:

    Which looks like a 501 internal server error (permissions?) ...

    I did a forced cPanel update (/scripts/upcp --force), but that did not change anything.

    Horde and Squirrel are working fine.

    Any help?
     
  2. samuelatm

    samuelatm Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same problem, you are not alone :)

    I did a force update too, no success.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I've just updated 2 servers and can't duplicate this on my end. Would you mind opening a ticket to cPanel on this please?
    http://go.cpanel.net/bugs
     
  4. samuelatm

    samuelatm Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I only have some users in trouble.

    I debug a little and i find what is wrong (i don't know why) :

    On /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/roundcube/program/include/rcube_template.php i have :

    An echo of $skin show me x3 on a not working user, and larry on a working user.

    I add a if in a way to get it working.

     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Are you saying you're using a custom cPanel style?

    I wonder is GuntherR is as well?
     
  6. GuntherR

    GuntherR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We use the normal x3 style. Tried to send a bug report ... but the browser crashed (FF) at the end of the report ..

    Just checked, in my case the $skin is 'x3'.
     
    #6 GuntherR, Oct 2, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sure sounds like the cPanel update did not complete properly. If it was me I'd try and force an update again.

    Please clear your browser cache, and then try putting in a ticket again if you would. If there's a problem with this update I'm sure cPanel Technical Support would like to know about it. And, fix it for you.
     
  8. GuntherR

    GuntherR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did probably 10 forced updates and it did not change anything.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, that appears to say Roundcube was updated successfully. But what about cPanel?
    2 ways to go here:
    /scripts/upcp --force
    http://go.cpanel.net/bugs

    Sorry I can't help more than that.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    669
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    We have an internal case open to address this issue. For reference, the case number is 61548. This thread will be updated when we have more information on the status of this case.

    Thank you.
     
  11. bmett

    bmett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, AU
    Hi there,

    I can confirm the issue on one of our 2 mailservers after last nights update.

    Cheers,
    bmett

    UPDATE: the 'larry' workaround from samuelatm worked on our mailserver too....
     
    #11 bmett, Oct 2, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  12. ryodo

    ryodo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks, bmett, I had the same issue, and 'larry' worked for me too. When I went back in to set my user interface preference to "classic" the system continued to work. So, it appears the new UI (which looks quite nice, by the way!) is assuming a preference setting that isn't there on older accounts like mine.

    EDIT:
    Actually, a nicer way would be this, which lets the user see the classic view they're used to:
    $skin = $this->app->config->get('skin');
    if( ($skin!="larry") && ($skin!="classic") ) $skin="classic"; // workaround to get skin working
    $this->set_skin($skin);
     
    #12 ryodo, Oct 3, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    669
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This will happen when a Roundcube user has configured a skin in the interface settings tab that has been removed from the system. It can also happen when config/main.inc.php defines a nonexistent skin directory.

    This will be addressed with cPanel 11.32.5.11 so that the default directory is used in instances where the configured skin directory is missing.

    Thank you.
     
  14. GuntherR

    GuntherR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks to the friendly guys from cPanel my servers were fixed the same day. One with the above fix I guess and the other one I messed with required a RC reinstall (MySQL data was messed up).
    Seems last nights update did not bring any new surprises.
    Thanks guys!
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    669
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanel 11.32.5.11 has been released to address this issue.

    cPanel 11.32 Change Log

    Fixed case 61548: Patch Roundcube to use the default skin correctly when the configured skin is not available.

    cPanel will update automatically if you have automatic updates enabled. Otherwise, you can update cPanel via:

    # /scripts/upcp

    Thank you.
     
  16. ravibagul

    ravibagul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    We are getting following error during upcp and roundcube is not getting installed.
    ---------------------
    [20121023.044041] [27391] chown: cannot access `/usr/local/cpanel/src/3rdparty/gpl/roundcube/config/main.inc.php': No such file or directory
    [20121023.044041] [27391] chown: cannot access `/usr/local/cpanel/src/3rdparty/gpl/roundcube/config/db.inc.php': No such file or directory
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Roundcube update from 0.8.1.cp3 to 0.8.1.cp3 in progress.
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Roundcube will be locked out during this process.
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Updating RoundCube (using cPanel version)
    [20121023.044041] [27391] FAIL - cPanel patch for Roundcube did not apply cleanly.
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Cleaning old Roundcube data archives
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Successful creation of roundcube cp_schema_version table
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Successfully saved version 0.8.1 to cp_schema_version table
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Schema update to 0.8.1 was successful
    [20121023.044041] [27391] Failed to untar Roundcube sources.
    ---------------------

    Any suggestion?
     
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Force another cPanel update, that would be the easiest thing to do at this point.
     
  18. bear

    bear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On 11.34.0 (build 9) that directory doesn't exist (nothing in 3rdparty for RC at all) on one of my servers. RC is not working at all, giving 404 errors. Tried forcing updates for both WHM and RC, no effect except errors related to not finding some files. Checked a few other servers on the same build, and it's working properly and found there.
    Kind of puzzling, and I could use some suggestions, please.
     
  19. Vinayak

    Vinayak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bharat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Encountered the same issue on one of the server today. RC was working fine. None of the above steps working to fix the issue.
     
  20. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support about this so they can come by for a closer look.
     
Loading...

Share This Page