The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resolver IP problem on cPanel/WHM 11.30.0

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by saamxvr, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. saamxvr

    saamxvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You mentioned that you assigned the following name servers to wzhost.info at Godaddy:

    However, currently, I see the following name servers are still assigned to this domain name:

    ns78.domaincontrol.com.
    ns77.domaincontrol.com.

    Please login to your domain registrar (GoDaddy), and ensure the name servers have been changed, not just registered.

    Thank you.
     
  3. saamxvr

    saamxvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes i just chang it for few hours , becoz my hosting provider recommend for this issues , some time maybe ip config with old servers , will seen
    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it can take several hours for a domain name to propagate throughout the Internet after you change the name servers. I wanted to point out that you need to register your name servers, "AND" assign those name servers to the domain name. These are two tasks you must complete at the domain registrar.

    Thank you.
     
  5. saamxvr

    saamxvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    last 3yaers i was use different server is base from German but different ISP
    ns1.wzhost.info - old server IP
    ns2.wzhost.info - old server IP

    after last june 10th was transfer new server its base on leaseweb ISP and also German

    ns1.wzhost.info - new server IP
    ns2.wzhost.info - new server IP

    but till yesterday ip not Resolver . so i guss this ther Network issues , but my hosting provide said this morning you just Chang the name server for few hours and Chang it back your default setting so if not work ther will Chang my server ISP .
    under /etc/resolv.conf im using google public DNS , 8.8.8.8 - 8.8.4.4

    Thanks
     
    #5 saamxvr, Jun 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The /etc/resolv.conf file on your system contains name servers that the server uses to look up domains that it does not host. It has little to do with domains or nameservers you will host on your server. You should use the resolvers provided by your data center in the /etc/resolv.conf file, rather than your own name servers.

    Thank you.
     
  7. saamxvr

    saamxvr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    But lot server use google DNS right ?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, many customers use Google's public DNS resolvers in their /etc/resolv.conf files (e.g. 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4). This is an acceptable alternative to the resolvers provided by your data center.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page