Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

restarted server, only some domains now resolve to their sites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by disgust, May 2, 2014.

  1. disgust

    disgust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i have multiple sites on the same box. they use the same nameservers to resolve. suddenly after restarting the box, some sites resolve and others don't

    how can i figure out what's causing this?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    How long ago did you reboot the system? Do the domain names resolve locally? EX:

    Code:
    dig @localhost domain.com
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. disgust

    disgust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    rebooted them less than an hour or two ago and this happened.

    this is the output i get from that command:


    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-20.P1.el5_8.6 <<>> @localhost domain.com
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

    (just to clarify, i did of course swap domain.com with my own domain, just switched it back for privacy reasons)
     
    #3 disgust, May 2, 2014
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please check to make sure no firewall rules are blocking connections. Also, try rebuilding the DNS configuration via:
    Code:
    mv /etc/named.conf /etc/named.conf.backup
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. disgust

    disgust Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    the output of that is as follows:


    root@snowwhite [/scripts]# /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    Including rndc key file to named.conf
    Adding controls clause

    How exactly do I go about checking the firewall? No rules should've been changed recently anyway
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,442
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sometimes rules are restored after a reboot if they were not saved correctly. Do you use a third-party firewall such as CSF? If not, you can temporarily disable iptables via:

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/iptables stop
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice