Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Restarting Apache Web Server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nirjonadda, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Restarting Apache Web Server take long time in WHM. How can fix?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    By a long time, what do you mean exactly? Is it faster to restart via CLI? You can do this by running:

    Code:
    /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    
    Does it actually restart or just hang?

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes httpd restarted successfully within 2/3 seconds via SSH but WHM take more then 4/5 min minutes to show me httpd restarted successfully.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Nirjonadda

    Can you show me what the following command outputs?

    Code:
    tail -20 /usr/local/cpanel/logs/safeapacherestart_log
    Can you also tell me the webserver you're running (apache, litespeed, nginx, etc) and your OS (CloudLinux7, CentOS7, etc.)?

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Code:
    [root@sa ~]# tail -20 /usr/local/cpanel/logs/safeapacherestart_log
    [2018-04-18 01:42:21 +0200] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 1
    [2018-04-18 01:42:52 +0200] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 1
    [2018-04-18 06:33:19 +0600] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 9
    [2018-04-18 06:35:56 +0600] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 14
    [2018-04-20 18:11:16 +0600] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 14
    [2018-04-20 18:24:38 +0600] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 18
    [2018-04-25 13:44:28 +0600] info [safeapacherestart] Forced restart elapsed seconds: 105
    [root@sa ~]#
    I am using apache CentOS7.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Nirjonadda

    What version of cPanel are you using? This sounds similar to an internal case CPANEL-18326 but that not only seemed to be only occurring on litespeed servers but it should have been fixed in v60.0.29 of cPanel

    If you're running that version can you go ahead and open a ticket so we can take a closer look, the last line of 105 seconds is definitely a long time to restart apache.

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am using v70.0.27
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi

    In that case I don't believe it to be the same issue, but I would like for you to open a ticket so we can investigate further. Please post the ticket ID here once the ticket is opened so we can update this thread with the outcome.


    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Support Request ID is: 9466919
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Nirjonadda

    Thank you! I'll keep this thread updated with the outcome of the ticket.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice