The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

restore accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bigpy2003, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all,

    I recently had a dedicated server, I could not afford it, so I moved to a reseller. I have several accounts that I need to "take" with me. I do not know the passwords to these accounts, so I would like to re-create the users on the new server I am on.

    I would like to keep their old passwords for convenience.

    Is there a way that I can do this via 3rd party or even built in cpanel script?

    I have downloaded the complete backup of all the sites I need to transfer.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd recommend using /scripts/pkgacct to "package" the accounts for transfer. Doing this via the cPanel interface without logging in as the user will result in databases not being included in the full site backup.

    You can then provide your new web hosting provider these files for them to restore.
     
  3. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have complete backups of the websites already, the ones that are generated by the backup tool in WHM.

    Will those do?

    Also, that is the only way to restore an account?


    I have no problem restoring it by hand, the only thing is...I would like the same passwords, so I don't have to reset the password for everyone. Is there a way I can get the person's passwords and do it manually. I don't really feel like waiting for my host.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Those should do.

    Password hashes are included in the account backup, so no changing of the password is needed if your host remembers they don't need to create an account before restoring it.

    Unfortunately, with only having reseller access, you will be unable to restore the backups yourself. Only root users can restore backups.
     
  5. bigpy2003

    bigpy2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My host is telling me that I need to create the account first and then upload the backup file.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is possible your hosting provider has a custom setup or script that requires this procedure. Offhand, I'm not sure if restoring a backup in this manner will preserve the account's password.
     
  7. tangowebs

    tangowebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    restoring a backup - user already exist

    Hi, Im having a problem with a backup which user is already registered on my server, used by another domain.

    Do you have any idea how can I restore a backup giving new username to account?
     
Loading...

Share This Page