The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restore cpanel from system that cannot boot

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Cha0s, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. Cha0s

    Cha0s Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Hello,

    I have a server with cPanel installed and software raid 1.

    For some reason the server crashed and does not recognize the md2 partition (/) and returns a kernel panic.

    I tried through the rescue console to fix the md2 partition and it works just fine.
    For some reason the kernel cannot mount it when booting...

    The array is degraded (it seems that sda drive has problems since the array sync stopped with error) but it is accessible from the rescue console.

    Is there a way to backup all the configs, accounts, etc through the rescue console (since it can mount the root partition of cpanel) and restore them 'automagically' on a fresh centos+cpanel install?

    Unfortunately the client hasn't enabled the backups so there are no confs/account backups...
     
  2. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  3. stugster

    stugster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey,

    We were gonna try this, but our /var/cpanel isn't a directory, it's a PHP file?! Is this right?
     
  4. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    No, this is not right; /var/cpanel should be a directory.
     
  5. stugster

    stugster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    gvard, thanks for the fast response.

    Did you, or have you, ever tried that eukHost blog suggestion? We actually followed it and that's where we found the /var/cpanel issue. Our NOC are getting the other disk from the RAID1 array to see if it's the same on that.
     
  6. gvard

    gvard Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens/GREECE
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No I haven't but the commands shown there seem to be the ones that are needed to copy all the necessary directories and configuration.
     
  7. stugster

    stugster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Silly question here... If we chucked all those commands into a .sh file, and then ran it through Screen, would that iterate through each one and wait until the previous one was finished?
     
  8. stugster

    stugster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Strange... The other disk shows it as a file too - although that disk hasn't been touched yet!
     
Loading...

Share This Page