The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restore from db backup missing information

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by mackman, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. mackman

    mackman Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I am new to databases and everything so bear with me....

    I work for a small hospital and we have a website built with the 'Jaws-Project' for PhpMyAdmin, DNS, etc..

    Recently we had a power outage that took down our virtual servers which killed our intranet website but I was able to restore to a backup and everything looked fine. We have forms that were saved to the website itself, not on our file server or anything, and they are the old information. Whenever I go to the PhpMyAdmin page and look through the database the information/forms are there.. Is there a way to force the new information to come over? It says the import was successful and like 517 items were imported but the information never changes..

    I have command line access to the server and access to everything so if you have any ideas I'm willing to try them all... please help! I've been trying to figure this out for 2 days and I cannot figure out why the information isn't coming through.

    Thanks in advance,
    Mackenzie
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You may want to check with the script configuration to ensure it's using the correct database name. If the data appears in the database itself when you view it via phpMyAdmin or the command line, then it's likely the issue is with the script itself.

    Thank you.
     
  3. mackman

    mackman Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where would I check the script configuration? That makes perfect sense though! Just not sure where to check :) Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. mackman

    mackman Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for the double post..

    I was looking at some other posts on here I tried the command "myisamchk -r /var/lib/mysql/web1db1/*.MYI*" and it found the 77 items needed - then I did the -i switch and under the FileBrowser (which is where the files are stored I'm missing) it says Records 77, Lost space 77.. is that normal?
     
    #4 mackman, Sep 5, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. Every script is different, so there is no specific location for a configuration file. You can consult with the script developer for that information if necessary.

    2. Lost space does not always indicate database corruption. It could simply be data that was removed. You can check the status of the database with a command such as:

    Code:
    mysqlcheck database_name
    Thank you.
     
  6. mackman

    mackman Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did that mysqlcheck and everything shows OK. I will see if I can get on the Jaws forum and find out something.
     
Loading...

Share This Page