The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restore vs. Recreate?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, Dec 26, 2005.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I am trying to bring in a servers's worth of cpbackup files to a new server.

    For restoring multiple backups I have the choice between RESTORING the accounts, or chosing RECREATE ACCOUNT instead. The latter is selected as default.

    Can someone please explain the difference between these two options? The cPanel documentation does not give a clue. Thanks.
     
  2. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Nevermind. I think I just figured it out.
     
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So what is the difference?

    ;)
     
  4. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38

    There is no difference. I was just mis-reading the options on the page.

    Recreate was already selected for each account. None of the restore checkboxes were selected. I just needed to click the Select All In This Column button so that all of the accounts would be restored AND recreated.

    It was a bit confusing at first because it made no sense to me that an account would be restored but not recreated? I still don't quite get that part, but everything seemed to go well in any case.
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well I wonder this too, I always click both but maybe it would be faster with just a restore or just a recreate?

    What if the account is already on the server and you don't want to over written but have it checked?
     
  6. linux.newbie

    linux.newbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Recreate option is used when you need a backup restore after a primary disk failure.

    Restore is to be used when you need to overwrite the current account using the backup available.

    That is what I make of it :p
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's what I thought too, but the restore option also recreates the account. So why have both.
     
Loading...

Share This Page