4u123

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
Jan 2, 2006
943
28
178
I've noticed that since the new backup system was developed, a restore of an account now causes the user to lose all recent mail that is in their accounts since the date of the backup.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure in the previous system, mail restored from a week ago wouldn't interfere with any existing messages, so you could safely restore the customers files and retain their most recent messages.

I'd like to know what is the exact intended behaviour of this. I notice if the option to "Restore Mail Configuration" now has the effect of deleting all Email accounts and I'm sure that wasn't the case before either.

Could someone possibly clarify?
 

madmanmachines

Well-Known Member
Nov 28, 2014
94
4
8
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi,

It was my understanding that an account restore would restore the account exactly as it was when the backup was made, including mail. It would be an excellent toggle feature, though.

Thanks,
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,884
2,250
463
Hello,

The goal of the backup restoration process is to restore the account to it's exact state at the time of the backup generation. It's not designed to maintain new files that were created after the backup generation occurred. You are welcome to open a feature request for this, or you may also find the following feature request suitable:

http://features.cpanel.net/response...n-restore-specific-parts-of-my-site-versus-th

Thank you.