The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restoring an account, SSH, /home etc..

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by webminx, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just got a deticated server. I need to restore a that I am transfering over. I know if I have a backup of a site, I need to upload load it to /home

    1) Upload it to the root of my deticated server?

    2) I heard I'm suppose to use SSH. I do not know how.

    Any help is appreciated :D
     
  2. Arhineus

    Arhineus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  3. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The transfer features will not work in this case. So I need to use this alternate method. As soon as someone can tell me how.
     
  4. Branko

    Branko Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you allready have an full backup file, place it in /home folder

    then go in whm, and search for "restore full backup/cpmove" function
     
  5. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How do I get to the /home folder on my deticated server?

    Someone said you can get to the /home folder through SSH using the command:

    ========
    cd /home
    ========

    I have no idea where I go to use SSH.
     
  6. echo_unlimited

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You can also put it in /root, if you know how to do that, that should work out.
     
  7. Branko

    Branko Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page