Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Restoring an account, SSH, /home etc..

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by webminx, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I just got a deticated server. I need to restore a that I am transfering over. I know if I have a backup of a site, I need to upload load it to /home

    1) Upload it to the root of my deticated server?

    2) I heard I'm suppose to use SSH. I do not know how.

    Any help is appreciated :D
     
  2. Arhineus

    Arhineus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
  3. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    The transfer features will not work in this case. So I need to use this alternate method. As soon as someone can tell me how.
     
  4. Branko

    Branko Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you allready have an full backup file, place it in /home folder

    then go in whm, and search for "restore full backup/cpmove" function
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. webminx

    webminx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    How do I get to the /home folder on my deticated server?

    Someone said you can get to the /home folder through SSH using the command:

    ========
    cd /home
    ========

    I have no idea where I go to use SSH.
     
  6. echo_unlimited

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You can also put it in /root, if you know how to do that, that should work out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Branko

    Branko Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice