The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restoring backups not showing accounts

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by penutz, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. penutz

    penutz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have around 100 gigs of data that I am trying to migrate to a new server. From what I have read it would be best to do a complete backup on the old server and then move that data to the new server. It was suggested to not use WHM and the cpanel account moving software.

    So at this point I told cPanel/WHM to backup all of the data and I then tared the data into daily.tgz. On the new server I untared this data and moved the daily folder to /backup/cpanbackup but when I try to restore from within WHM it does not see any accounts listed.

    Backmode is set to Restore Only on the new server.

    Please see attached screen shots to see what I see when I attempt to restore.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    You can try to use the inbuilt feature of WHM to migrate the domain from one server to another server. I have migrated many domains from one server to another server using the WHM inbuilt feature and it is working perfectly fine.
     
  3. yawsh

    yawsh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,
    Any success of showing account for restoration?
     
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I thought you had to have the files in /home or /home1 to have them show up in cpanel restore?

    (It does say that on the restore page)

    You can also restore them with the restorepkg command, search for examples in the forums.
     
    #4 brianoz, Nov 5, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page