The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restoring large backups

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stream, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. Stream

    Stream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Had to do an os-reload yesterday, and got all sites up from the .tar.gz backups created by whm/cpanel - except 1 site. This is the largest and most important one, with a vBulletin-forum containing about 4GB of data.

    The restore-program in WHM says everything went ok, but the database is not restored correctly. It only recreated 7 tables allthough it should have been over 100.

    Anyone knows if this is a common problem, or have I just been unlucky here?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You could untar the backup file and locate the SQL file for the database and load it manually using the mysql command.
     
  3. Stream

    Stream Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've done that now. I had 2 backups of this site. One from last week and one from this week. The oldest one is truncated after just 7 tables (attachment-table in vBulletin) and the latest is truncated after 77 tables (postindex-table in vBulletin).

    I thought I could trust the backupfiles, as I've not seen any error-messages or anything about it. :(
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  5. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've restored vB's up to 2.5 Gigs with no problem (other than taking some time). But, it sounds like your backup files weren't complete. :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page