The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Restoring the backups

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kempes, Nov 19, 2002.

  1. kempes

    kempes Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Last night, my CPanel server's hard disk crashed. :(
    But the datacenter has replaced it with the new one
    (with everything installed)

    And now, I have to restore all websites from /backup
    partition (about 125 websites) to the main HD.

    Is there any easier way to restore them other than
    through WHM? In WHM I can only do it one by one :(
    And it takes a lot of time.

    Perhaps through SSH?

    Any response will be much appreciated.
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Through SSH you would still only be able to restore one at a time but it may be a bit faster.

    The backups work by saving each user directory in the /home directory as a .tar.gz file. Probably the quickest way would be to move all the zipped files to the home directory and then just unzip each site one by one.
     
  3. kempes

    kempes Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:e3d480156a][i:e3d480156a]Originally posted by squirrel[/i:e3d480156a]Through SSH you would still only be able to restore one at a time but it may be a bit faster.[/quote:e3d480156a]
    Can you elaborate this, please?
    I mean which scripts do I need to run? Can you
    give an example? If I put all the SSH commands through a
    bash script I can make it faster. Do you think so?
    [quote:e3d480156a][i:e3d480156a]Originally posted by squirrel[/i:e3d480156a]
    The backups work by saving each user directory in the /home directory as a .tar.gz file. Probably the quickest way would be to move all the zipped files to the home directory and then just unzip each site one by one.
    [/quote:e3d480156a]
    I just downloaded one of the backup files to local PC.
    And the directory structure is
    [quote:e3d480156a]userid/
    userid/cp/
    userid/homedir/
    userid/homedir/public_html
    userid/homedir/mail/
    userid/homedir/etc/
    ........and other subdirectories
    userid/logs/
    userid/va/
    userid/vf/[/quote:e3d480156a]
    So, extracting the backups at /home is not the same as restoring through WHM.
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:4868c67f66][i:4868c67f66]Originally posted by squirrel[/i:4868c67f66]

    Through SSH you would still only be able to restore one at a time but it may be a bit faster.

    The backups work by saving each user directory in the /home directory as a .tar.gz file. Probably the quickest way would be to move all the zipped files to the home directory and then just unzip each site one by one.
    [/quote:4868c67f66]
    Man, that is soooo not true. If you unzip them in the home directory, then you need to waste time moving everything around to where they should be. You're much better off using the WHM restore feature.
     
  5. kempes

    kempes Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    iminteractive,

    OK. the new server now is ready. And I just finished initiating the new WHM.
    But, when I try to restore an account, the following message appears:
    [quote:a1f6a825fe]
    Restoring password...Changing password for [i:a1f6a825fe]some-user-id[/i:a1f6a825fe]
    Password for [i:a1f6a825fe]some-user-id[/i:a1f6a825fe] has been changed
    Done
    Restoring proftpd file....Done
    Restoring old style domainalias....Done
    Resyncing Ftp Password...Ftp Password Files synced
    Vhost Passwords synced
    Done
    Restoring parked domains.....Done
    Restoring subdomains......besman
    ...IP=[i:a1f6a825fe]XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX[/i:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    The subdomain, [i:a1f6a825fe]subdomain1[/i:a1f6a825fe].[i:a1f6a825fe]some-domain[/i:a1f6a825fe].com has been added....forum
    ...IP=[i:a1f6a825fe]XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX[/i:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    The subdomain, [i:a1f6a825fe]subdomain2[/i:a1f6a825fe].[i:a1f6a825fe]some-domain[/i:a1f6a825fe].com has been added....kinchai
    ...IP=[i:a1f6a825fe]XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX[/i:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    [b:a1f6a825fe]ndc: connect failed: connection refused[/b:a1f6a825fe]
    The subdomain, [i:a1f6a825fe]subdomain3[/i:a1f6a825fe].[i:a1f6a825fe]some-user-id[/i:a1f6a825fe].com has been added...Done
    [color=red:a1f6a825fe][b:a1f6a825fe]Restoring Files..../bin/cp: missing destination file
    Try `/bin/cp --help' for more information.[/b:a1f6a825fe][/color:a1f6a825fe]
    Done
    Chowning Files...Done
    Fixing interchange permissions...Interchange not installed on this account.Done
    Converting email to cPanel 5 (if needed)...Done
    Fixing mail permissions....Done
    Account Copy Complete

    Account Restore Complete[/quote:a1f6a825fe]

    Notice the bold and red lines. The account was created allright. But, no files inside the account!

    Anybody know, why? Is there something wrong with the backup? The original account has some files inside.

    Thanks for any reply.
     
Loading...

Share This Page