The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

restrict exim to one ip address

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cyberspirit, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It appears that WHM installs Exim to answer all ips that are available on a machine. Is it possible to restrict Exim to a specific ip just for mail? I kind of miss more email (Exim) options in WHM since email is a very complex item these days with SSL/TLS, auth smtp, spam filtering and anti-virus measures.
    Does anyone know how to have Exim only bind to one ip?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Firewall out traffic to port 25 on your other IPs.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  4. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Good call, I completely forgot about that variable.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course you can change the local interface option in exim but what will happen when you add a new user to cpanel is that they DNS settings for the MX record will show the ip of the webhost and not the one of exim.
    That is why I asked the cpanel team to create an option to actually change and restrict exim to one ip from cpanel and then automatically have the mx records for old and new domains point there.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. scloutier@bmd.c

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One thing you could do for new account is just modify the default dns template so it already has the right MX record.
     
  7. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    You just reply to the question 5 years old :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page