Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Restricted HostName Changes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sarhosting, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    1) For those that provides hosting with root access, do you restrict your end users from changing the HOSTNAME in WHM? Why or why not?

    2) Those that get hosting with root access, does your host allow your to change? Curious to see what results will be.

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    People who get servers from us can change whatever they wish. We do ask to be kept apprised of hostname changes just for our record keeping.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That sounds fair. Thanks for responding, GOT.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It seems to be standard that root level users have access to modify this, at least in my experience. I also don't see why you would disallow hostname changes if you're providing a user root access to the server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sarhosting

    sarhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes! A few years ago, someone we know changed their hostname where they host and got locked out cPanel and WHM as the hostname didn't match the cPanel license. Never encountered that issue in the 10 years though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    We require a FQDN as the hostname but the license isn't attached to that, just the primary IP address, that is odd that occurred.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice