The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reverse dns and email free service locked

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by upsforum, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I send email to specific email address of ISP service and I get this error:

    ...mail.tiscali.it ESMTP server not available if you do not have a reverse dns mapping

    I checked reverse dns my server and it exist but not work
     
  2. LinuxTechie

    LinuxTechie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you please provide the full headers to have a close look on the issue? Also confirm you have rdns using iptools.com
     
  3. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I dont know iptools, what is?

    this is complete error log of exim

    2011-04-13 14:55:13 1Q9zbF-0002Jp-DR <= nobody@server5.hostserver.net U=nobody P=local S=714 id=80ffdae453cd7dfe624705ef9d848c2a@www.domainofaccount.it T="[AIE onlus] Link di verifica per l'account" from <nobody@server5.hostserver.net> for mytestemail@tiscali.it
    2011-04-13 14:55:14 1Q9zbF-0002Jp-DR ** mytestemail@tiscali.it F=<nobody@server5.hostserver.net> R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp: SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection: host imp-2.mail.tiscali.it [213.205.33.249]: 554 imp-2.mail.tiscali.it ESMTP server not available if you do not have a reverse dns mapping
     
  4. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I checked with iptools:


    65.98.62.138 is server5.kubeit.net.
     
  5. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Your server's reported hostname should match your rDNS record. According to the mail logs provided, your server is reporting its hostname as "server5.hostserver.net" which does not match the rDNS entry.
     
  6. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What do you suggest?
     
  7. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Change the rDNS entry to match the server's hostname, or vice-versa.
     
  8. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I added a ptr record in dns zone but not work:

    138.62.98.65.in-addr.arpa 14400 IN PTR server5.kubeit.net.

    In my /etc/mailips I have this:

    *: 65.98.62.139
     
  9. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can only setup a PTR record if you control the IP zone file due to the IP provider delegating that IP control to you. Most ISPs and hosting providers do not provide IP zone control to their customers. If you do not control the actual IP zone, which is not the same as the DNS zone control, then the IP provider (whoever delegated the IP to you) will have to setup the PTR record.
     
Loading...

Share This Page