The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reverse DNS entries for MX records

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Skysaber, Apr 30, 2003.

  1. Skysaber

    Skysaber Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    Has anyone else ever run any of their domains through www.dnsreport.com and Failed for Reverse DNS entries for MX records and Failing to connect to Mail servers? Is this an error I have made or a WHM issue? Any help is greatly appreciated!

    - Marcus
     
  2. xsenses

    xsenses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, Ca
    Revers DNS entries are made by the datacenter for your server.
     
  3. Spider

    Spider Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I having the same problem, and
    I used dnsreport to check my domains.

    I think it has nothing to do with reverse Lookup at the datacenter.

    I have two servers and only have the
    problem with the one using WHM.

    Maybe somebody else has more info,
    on this problem.

    Dave
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    have you double checked the entry at the mentioned link @ dnsstuff as it could of been a dns timed out issue, or alternatively check the reverse dns deegation chain from arin/ripe/etc whichever is correct for your ip ? it is entirely possible for one 1 ip to have rdns entry and another not
     
  5. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Getting groggy and a bit of a newbie here, but what I did was make the mail entry in WHM for my domain an A Record and used the IP of the main server.

    That seemed to fix it
     
  6. thrillhost

    thrillhost Registered

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was having the same issue, but when I try to add the A entry, I get a page cannot be found error. Weird part is it has done that in the past, but always added the entry anyway, now it is not. Any ideas? Thanks
     
  7. Networkologist

    Networkologist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You mean when saving the DNS changes or trying to access the site?
     
  8. Spider

    Spider Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Reverse DNS

    No luck here, in trying to change DNS. on
    WHM.

    However, in reading from:

    The reverse zone isn't delegated.

    I think it must be done at the datacenter.

    see article:http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/DNS-HOWTO-5.html#ss5.3

    Also see "Originally posted by xsenses
    Reverse DNS entries are made by the datacenter for your server."

    Dave
     
  9. Spider

    Spider Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The reverse DNS probblem is solved.

    I contacted my datacenter, and they
    install reverse lookups for my domains
    that I am hosting.

    (My Datacenter does not delegate reverse lookups. I have to request reverse lookups.)

    It now works fine.

    Thanks to all of you that responded to
    this problem. :)

    Dave
     
Loading...

Share This Page