The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RewriteEngine on

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by arkain, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you know if it's installed? How do you check? I've tried it with .htaccess, and all I got nothing, but
    How do I install this to my cpanel if it's not installed...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  3. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    try this in your httpd.conf

    <IfDefine rewrite>
    RewriteLog "/usr/local/apache/logs/rewrite_log"
    </IfDefine>
     
  4. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What does "Try this...mean?" adding that line in the file? where does that file located?
     
  5. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm...

    file located at /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf

    edit that file and put the line where ever u like.

    restart apache

    and tail -f /usr/local/apache/logs/rewrite_log

    open new browser and test ur rewrite config

    something gonna show up in rewrite_log
     
  6. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    did not fix the problem...hmm, weird...how can I quick install this?
     
  7. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what i gave you its not a fix but its for u to check out if rewrite module is working or not and if it does its to check if ur rewrite config is working the way u want it or not. its a way to debug what went wrong.

    quick fix? perhaps recompile ur apache using /scripts/easyapache or compile it using WHM.
     
  8. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    maybe you should try this before considering to recompile apache. type /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -l

    see the list if theres mod_rewrite.so listed. If it does, it means ur apache is compiled with mod_rewrite enabled
     
  9. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it's not there...so what do i do?
     
  10. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    recompile your apace using /scripts/easyapache or use the tool in WHM. Both needs root
     
  11. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Which do i pick?
     
  12. rix

    rix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm... this i cannot help you. seriously it depends on you. As for me, since i know the work around it, i choose 6. but as for you, its up to u to decide
     
  13. arkain

    arkain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've done all the steps, and yet...it's still not on the list...is there a way to fix this? or add the module manually?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page