The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RHL9 to Centos

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HH-Steven, Jun 24, 2005.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, ive recently setup a new server and so far i have to agree, Centos seems to be the best OS by far at the moment, but now its left me with a bit of a predicament :

    Server1 currently hosts all sites (shared & resellers) and is running on RHL9 (which as we know is now unsupported)

    What im proposing doing is moving all accounts to the Centos loaded server then doing an OS reload using Centos on Server1 then balancing the loads out across both servers.

    What would be the best way to go about doing this? or is there an alternative?

    thanks.
     
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It's a fairly easy and stable upgrade to do RH9 > Centos

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=24675&highlight=Upgrade+centos

    Thats to 3.1 but you can modify to upgrade to a later version.

    You don't need to have another box and move accounts, change IP's etc if you do the above but you could do if you wanted and move them (if you are able to switch ips between boxes ie same datacenter without vlans etc) like this http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?p=166997#post166997 look for my post there regarding moving accounts and all config to a new box and keeping the same ips.

    You could just swap servers and change ip's for your sites, but generally the upgrade is pretty smooth.
     
  3. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, but whats the likelyhood of something going wrong with the upgrade? has there been know problems? whats the success rate of this?

    The RH9 server is a live production server which hosts a fair amount of large sites and databases and obviously isnt something i want to lose.

    Thanks.
     
  4. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If the upgrade is done correctly it's very smooth.
    I have performed a lot of upgrades from redhat 9 to Centos with 100% success.
    I do know what I am doing though but never had an issue with rh9 - Redhat 7.x to Centos is another story, plenty of issues to be had there ;)

    However, that doesn't mean that you won't have problems, if you are not too confident then maybe hire someone to do it for you - I believe Chirpy or others on this board are available for hire to do these kind of upgrades at a very reasonable price.
     
  5. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok, well ive transferred all accounts just in case, and started upgrading to centos 3.1 as linked to above, but came across this :

    # yum upgrade
    Gathering header information file(s) from server(s)
    Server: CentOS-9 - Addons
    Server: CentOS-9 - Base
    Server: CentOS-9 - Extras
    Server: CentOS-9 - Updates
    Finding updated packages
    Downloading needed headers
    Finding obsoleted packages
    Resolving dependencies
    .package redhat-config-securitylevel needs lokkit (not provided)
    #

    Any suggestions?
     
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Grab the correct centos-release rpm and install it. As you can see, yum thinks you're using centos9. (It's using redhat-release)
     
  7. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    use mirror.centos.org/centos/3.5/os/i386/ and

    mirror.centos.org/centos/3.5/updates/i386/

    If you want me to do it, or want me to talk you through it over msn, my addy is g0tr00t2k4@gmail.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
Loading...

Share This Page