The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rndc: connect failed: connection refused

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by xWho, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. xWho

    xWho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why is this happening, please:

    ???
     
  2. UKDSL

    UKDSL Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try running the following:

    /scripts/fixnamed
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc


    If that doesnt work try doing this to your named.conf

    Make a backup
    cp /etc/named.conf /etc/named.conf-old

    Open it up and take this out

    controls {
    inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { rndckey; };
    };

    Save it then type:

    service named restart

    Then run /scripts/fixndc

    Also make sure named.conf has the correct permissions
     
  3. xWho

    xWho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried your suggestions and I still get the same error:

    Whenever trying to add DNS entries, and also when creating new accounts:

     
  4. kalpin

    kalpin Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    has this problem solved ? if not I have same experience and I can solve it manually. If you want I can post it with my way, but I must make sure if this solve or not.
     
  5. cyberwisdom

    cyberwisdom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would like to see it the other way since this fix didn't work for me....
     
  6. djbusyv

    djbusyv Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Might Help

    I recieved same error

    Error reloading bind on print: rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    i was trying to add an spf record -
    but it was actually adding the text to the record but not recognizing

    My solution: I just clicked - restart DNS/Name Server (BIND)
    under restart services

    then when i checked to see if it registered changes it did....
     
  7. mydomain

    mydomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try this mate:

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/upcp --force
    mv /etc/named.conf /etc/named.old
    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf > /etc/named.conf
    service named stop
    killall -9 named
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc

    Should fix it. :D
     
  8. Apocalyptic

    Apocalyptic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    why does not an answer given for cpanel problems as stated in other post
     
    #8 Apocalyptic, Apr 17, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2005
  9. verticalhost

    verticalhost Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Walton Beach, FL
    That method works great!

    BOOKMARKED
     
  10. x-man

    x-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bad Post!

    Sorry, this is bad post, please delete!
     
    #10 x-man, Jun 22, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2005
  11. aspr

    aspr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!


    It worked!
     
  12. Runtime

    Runtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This worked great !!! :)
    However, the 'bind' is not listed in the Service Manager anymore.
    Any ideas how to 'force' list it ?
    Thank you.
     
  13. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    Check the 2 files
    /var/run/chkservd/bind and /etc/chkserv.d/bind. It will help you to solve this issue.

    Let me know the status
     
  14. Runtime

    Runtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bijo !!!! THANX !!!!! :)

    Those two files did not existed. Two because I requested a memory check for the server,
    and when it was done, the server was rebooted and again the same problem with the DNSes appeared. This time the named was gone like the bind from the service list.
    However, now they are both there, and I'm waiting to see if the DNSes will start to work properly.
    Thank you! :)
     
  15. Runtime

    Runtime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ...... I've fixed the problem. Here's a 'short' summary:

    1) Problems with the BIND - I've fixed them using the info in this thread. Thank you!:)

    2)No BIND in the service list. Bijo helped - thank you Bijo

    3)Memory test, server restart , again problems with the BIND

    4)Tried to fix with the info in this thread - didn't work

    5)No named no bind in the service list. Bijo's advise helped again:)

    6)Tried several times to fix the problem by changing IP addresses, updating DNSes & etc, but nothing helped. Whenever I edit a DNS zone (even if I don't make any changes)
    the bind fails to reload. I tried both ways - editing the named.conf , running again all scripts & Cpanel update - no help at all. The IP addresses for both DNSes were correct,
    and had the correct entries in /etc/nameserverips file.

    7) Feeling helpless and hungry (no time 4 food), I did this (after checking again if everything is as it should be):

    mv /etc/named.conf /etc/named.old
    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf > /etc/named.conf
    service named stop
    killall -9 named
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc

    This (and I don't know why and how) fixed the problem.

    The thing that is killing me is why it did not work the previous 4-5 times since my last post...
    Being stubborn finally pays-off.....

    Thank you for the help!!!! :p

    I believe that the problem is in the fact that the server shared IP is xxx.yyy.zzz.254
    and I could not use 255 for obvious reason :) Therefor the 2nd ip address (the IP for the 2nd DNS) is .253...
     
    #15 Runtime, Aug 5, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2005
  16. mydomain

    mydomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Great news, glad you found the help on here useful.
     
  17. welo

    welo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Last month my NOC updated my box from FC1 to CentOS 4.3 (not even quite sure how) and ever since then during account creation I was getting the following error:

    Error reconfiguring bind on [server]: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.

    Sometimes restarting BIND/Apache/server worked and sometimes it didn't. The solution posted above seems to have solved it, although while trying to run:

    /scripts/updatenow​

    ...I kept getting:

    updatenow should only be run from upcp at /scripts/updatenow line 10.

    Uncertain what that was about but everything seems to be working.
     
Loading...

Share This Page