The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rndc: connect failed: what's this

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I set a up a new box as a slave then changed my mind and switched it back.

    but it gets this error when I do a bind restart or try to make a host name:

    rndc: connect failed:

    Anyone know what this error means and what the fix might be.

    I registered the names servers for the box about a week ago and they still do not work.

    Please help

    Thank you,

    Charles
     
  2. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ndc: connect failed:

    Is this the same thing, this is what happens when I try to save a host name.

    The other one I get when I try to restart bind.

    Please help
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please help

    I just got the on the error log, is my server stuck in slave mode?

    root@pyle1 [~]# tail /var/log/messages
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4080]: starting BIND 9.2.1 -u named
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4080]: using 1 CPU
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4083]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4083]: /etc/named.conf:34: option 'allow-update' is not allowed in 'slave' zone '0.0.127.in-addr.arpa'
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4083]: /etc/named.conf:882: option 'allow-update' is not allowed in 'slave' zone 'localhost'
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4083]: loading configuration: failure
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named[4083]: exiting (due to fatal error)
    Oct 11 17:51:28 pyle1 named: named startup failed
    Oct 11 17:52:29 pyle1 proftpd: pyle1.ecommerce-web-hosting-services.com - Fatal: unable to determine IP address of `pyle1.ecommerce-web-hosting-services.com'.
    Oct 11 17:52:29 pyle1 proftpd: proftpd startup failed

    Please help

    The name config file still has averything listed as a slave.

    How do you convert a slave server back. Do I have to reinstall cpanel?

    Thank you
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I've been getting the rndc message since I upgraded to 225 last night on my slave server. I can't get my slave server to stay online (BIND that is) consistently since then. Anytime I try to restart BIND I get that message in WHM. None of the new zones on the primary are getting copied to the slave server either. After seeing these posts from you, I'm absolutely sure that 225 hosed up DNS on my servers. I'm just glad I didn't upgrade my primary or I'd probably be totally screwed right now.

    Jaz
     
  5. lightnin

    lightnin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is totally unscientific, but I was able to fix this by going to 'install an rpm' choosing bind and checking 'force install'.

    Then all was wine and roses again. :)
     
  6. naiton

    naiton Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    what's this?

    Rebuilding DNS Zones List from master server .....
    Scp failed!
    Attempting to restart bind
    stdin: is not a tty rndc: connect failed: connection refused bind status bind did not return a status report
     
  7. bayservers

    bayservers Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi you must be find /var/named/named.root line in /etc/named.conf and remove this addon line. and write this command:
    service named restart
    i sure your problem will be fix thanx ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page