Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

rndc Error reloading bind - rndc: get key: not found

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by rodstewart, Apr 3, 2004.

  1. rodstewart

    rodstewart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Hamburg Germany
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have installed the cpanel on a new Suse 8.2 Server and if i add an A Entry for my Hostname i get this error.


    Zone mydomain.com does not exist, a new zone for server1.mydomain.com will be created.
    Bind reloading on server1 using rndc Error reloading bind on server1: rndc: get key: not found
    Created DNS entry for server1.mydomain.com
    Add Complete


    Can Anybody Help me?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Go to your /etc/named.con on the server that is complaining and make sure it is rndc-key instead of rndykey. This is supposed to get fixed with /scripts/fixndc, but that doesn't seem to work any longer. This should make the error go away.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lizardthefish

    lizardthefish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  4. sirswatch

    sirswatch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    This fix DON'T WORK on Park or Point domain function !

    If I try to park a domain I receive this error message:
    Error reloading bind on srv2: rndc: 'reload' failed: not found


    This error on ANY server we have !

    I have checked by hand (ssh access) named.conf and rndc.conf for 'rndc-key' syntax. In all files I see 'rndc-key'
     
  5. ahmedaf

    ahmedaf Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    try replacing rndc-key with rndc.key in /etc/named.conf and /etc/rndc.conf

    That fixed the error for me but im on fedora.

    Also in in Fedora, the fix for this is to comment out the 'ROOTDIR=' line in /etc/sysconfig/named.


    Refer to these threads for more indepth information.

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22654&highlight=rndc+error

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=18781&highlight=reverse+ptr

    It took me literally 4 days to figure out the problem (past 4 days ive been searching everywhere but here..today i finally registered here and searched :D)

    Good luck.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Thank you for that, it had me running around in circles for a few days now :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice