The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rndc status failed, connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: timed out

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by postcd, Apr 4, 2016.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    i found this in cpanel error log:

    Please which commands / steps to do to discover cause and fix it? Thank You
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Check to see if local connections to port 953 are possible from your server's command line. EX:

    Code:
    telnet 127.0.0.1 953
    You may need to review any firewall rules you have enabled if the connection is blocked.

    Thank you.
     
  3. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    thx, no, Yours mentioned command returns this: :(

    # netstat -penta|grep named
    # cat /etc/rndc.conf|grep port
    csf -p|grep named
    (port 53 is within allowed ports in CSFirewall and 953 is not there)

    When i pause CSF (firewall) and do # service named status
    What/why went wrong please?
    Seems that after CSFirewall was enabled again, timeout no longer appears

    but newly created cPanels DNS fails to work. I do command "host newcpaneldomain.tld" and result is "Host newcpaneldomain.tld not found: 2(SERVFAIL)"
    but after i manually reload DNS zone, i see it start working/resolving and WHM says this upon reloading:
    "Bind reloading on hostname using rndc: WARNING: key file (/etc/rndc.key) exists, but using default configuration file (/etc/rndc.conf)
    server reload successful"
     
    #3 postcd, Apr 5, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2016
  4. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks to be csf firewall was blocking there connection on port 53. After restarting it that has been sorted out.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does DNS fail externally as well, or is it just the local server that returns the "not found" error when using the "host" command?

    Thank you.
     
  6. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I can"t confirm if DNS fails externally, i already reloaded that DNS Zone manually.

    I followed cpanel support suggestion (Add 127.0.0.0/8 to /etc/csf/csf.allow and also to /etc/csf/csf.ignore.) and restarted CSF (firewall).

    But i still see timeout when telnet localhost and port 953 or 80

    (example: telnet 127.0.0.1 953)

    service named status and rndc reload
    is timeouting too
     
    #6 postcd, Apr 6, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2016
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see the issue is now addressed. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
  8. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yes, it seemd like that, but reallity is different, i updated my post as it is not solved.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, it looks like the issue was isolated to your firewall rules, per the support ticket. I suggest updating your custom firewall rules, or going through each custom rule one by one to narrow down the culprit.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page