Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Root access to localhost

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lostinspace, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I think I just removed root access to "localhost". Anyone know how the heck I can fix this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you mean mysql root access to localhost?

    or what?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I can't connect to localhost with root anymore. I removed ALL perms to localhost.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ok, i repeat my question


    are we talking about mysql or ssh ?

    what exactly are you triyng to do and does not work?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I'm talking about MySQL.

    I basically removed ALL perms from 'localhost' for 'root' while I was in WHM PHPMYADMIN.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you only removed privileges to localhost, do this:


    ssh to the box, become root if necessary


    then


    mysql -u root -h YOUR_HOSTNAME -p

    give the mysql root password


    and you should be at the mysql prompt

    issue the command


    grant all privileges on *.* to root@localhost identifyed by 'your_root_password';

    flush privileges;


    quit

    and should be ok.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    sorry, it's


    grant all privileges on *.* to root@localhost identified by 'your_root_password';


    identified, not identifyed
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Perfect! That did it.

    Thank you so much for replying.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Is root@localhost supposed to have "grant" perms?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, just like root@HOSTNAME
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ok, strange, it didn't give GRANT permission after running the command.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice