The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

root can't access cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fakaheel, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. fakaheel

    fakaheel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UAE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Recently i've configured my WHM/cPanel (optimized vps).

    Now, i'm not able to access with root any account's cPanel (2082/2083), the error message i receive;

    "Internal Server Error 500, could not fetch uid or gid for: root, cpsrvd/11.30.4.6 Server at domainname"

    I understand that root has the privilege to access any account's cPanel.

    Appreciate your help to solve this.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Root does have the ability to access any cPanel user's account, but you must use that user's username not the username root. Otherwise, cPanel doesn't know which user's account you are trying to enter. You could alternatively go to WHM > List Accounts and enter the cPanel for any account there by clicking the cPanel icon.

    Basically, cPanel login requires a cPanel user and will not work with the root username. It does work with the cPanel username and the root password, though, provided you have this set in WHM > Tweak Settings:

     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In WHM > Server Configuration > Tweak Settings, System tab there are some settings you might want to check.
     
  4. fakaheel

    fakaheel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UAE
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelTristan and Infopro,

    many thanks for your help, solved :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page