The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

root log file

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by web3k, Mar 16, 2006.

1. web3k

web3k Registered

Mar 11, 2006
    I am new to cpanel, and am still using the 15 day trial, but i have a several questions on the log file root sends me every day.

First of all, here is an exert of my log, i replaced the user domain name with the word DOMAIN. but otherwise these are from my actual log.

Can anyone explain this to me in laymans terms?

My server has officially been up since 9 March 06.

--------------------- pam_unix Begin ------------------------
    Authentication Failures:
    unknown ( 2782 Time(s)
    root ( 223 Time(s)
    mysql ( 20 Time(s)
    postgres ( 16 Time(s)
    news ( 14 Time(s)
    apache ( 9 Time(s)
    bin ( 9 Time(s)
    root ( 8 Time(s)
    rpm ( 8 Time(s)
    nobody ( 7 Time(s)
    squid ( 7 Time(s)
    mail ( 6 Time(s)
    postfix ( 6 Time(s)
    ftp ( 5 Time(s)
    games ( 5 Time(s)
    lp ( 5 Time(s)
    mailman ( 5 Time(s)
    sshd ( 5 Time(s)
    adm ( 4 Time(s)
    ntp ( 4 Time(s)
    operator ( 4 Time(s)
    daemon ( 3 Time(s)
    halt ( 3 Time(s)
    mailnull ( 3 Time(s)
    named ( 3 Time(s)
    nscd ( 3 Time(s)
    rpcuser ( 3 Time(s)
    shutdown ( 3 Time(s)
    smmsp ( 3 Time(s)
    sync ( 3 Time(s)
    xfs ( 3 Time(s)
    gopher ( 2 Time(s)
    nfsnobody ( 2 Time(s)
    pcap ( 2 Time(s)
    rpc ( 2 Time(s)
    uucp ( 2 Time(s)
    cpanel ( 1 Time(s)
    Invalid Users:
    Unknown Account: 2782 Time(s)
    ---------------------- pam_unix End -------------------------

--------------------- Connections (secure-log) Begin ------------------------

**Unmatched Entries**
    Cp-Wrap[15299]: Pushing "32003 RESELLERSUSERS DOMAIN " to '/usr/local/cpanel/bin/reselleradmin' for UID: 32003
    Cp-Wrap[15299]: CP-Wrapper terminated without error