The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Root login from 64.0.0.0

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by snewton, Aug 4, 2015.

  1. snewton

    snewton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We have several machines in several data centers and one in particular is doing something weird.

    When I log into SSH or WHM, I receive an email notification that a "Root login from 64.0.0.0" was logged, but the weird thing is, that obviously not my IP. It is in the 64.x.x.x range though.

    This only occurs on this one particular server. Other servers at the same data center and same config show my correct IP in the notification.

    I've checked everything I can think of network related and everything appears to be correct, so I am stumped and open to any suggestions.
     
  2. snewton

    snewton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forgot to mention, the OS is CloudLinux 6.6 and cPanel version is 11.50.0
     
  3. ModServ

    ModServ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check the output from the command:
    Code:
    export | grep -i ssh | grep [0-9]
    on that specific server.

    This will show your IP, check if it's correct.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. snewton

    snewton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it shows the correct IP.

    Nope, just my IP.
     
    #5 snewton, Aug 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 5, 2015
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look at the issue? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. snewton

    snewton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket #7058315
     
    #7 snewton, Aug 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2015
  8. snewton

    snewton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just doubled checked the issue after submitting the ticket and could not reproduce the issue.

    I'm thinking a recent update may have solved it. Weird.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page