The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rootfs full

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by seizart, May 12, 2013.

  1. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    My rootfs is full how can i fixed this:

    Drive Warning: rootfs (/) is 84% full

    Drive Warning: /dev/root (/var/named/chroot/usr/lib64/bind) is 84% full

    Drive Warning: /dev/root (/var/named/chroot/etc/named) is 84% full
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just followed this page but i m getting stuck at the second step by errors:


    df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    rootfs 20G 16G 3.0G 85% /
    /dev/root 20G 16G 3.0G 85% /
    none 12G 516K 12G 1% /dev
    /dev/md3 1.8T 217G 1.5T 13% /home
    tmpfs 12G 0 12G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/loop0 4.0G 139M 3.7G 4% /tmp
    /dev/loop0 4.0G 139M 3.7G 4% /var/tmp
    /dev/root 20G 16G 3.0G 85% /var/named/chroot/etc/named
    /dev/root 20G 16G 3.0G 85% /var/named/chroot/usr/lib64/bind


    du -sh /
    du: cannot access `/proc/32161': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/32656/task/32656/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/32656/task/32656/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/32656/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/32656/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    232G /
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can ignore those error messages. It's just telling you files that could not be accessed. Try browsing into the directory further and looking for what's taking up the space. EX:

    Code:
    # cd /
    # du -sh *
    Thank you.
     
  5. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ve 11g in usr folder but i don't know what is important, can you let me know what is safe to delete:

    cd usr
    root@xxxx [/usr]# du -sh *
    192M bin
    8.0K etc
    4.0K games
    37M include
    135M lib
    306M lib64
    36M libexec
    3.6G local
    88K man
    12K mes_scripts
    93M sbin
    670M share
    1.3G src
    0 tmp
    4.1G tmpDSK
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like you might be able to save some space by cleaning up your /tmp partition. Please see the following thread for information about cleaning /tmp:

    Cron to clean /tmp

    Thank you.
     
  7. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    it looks like tmp is empty but tmpDSK is 4.1G , what s the difference , i ve read somewhere it wasn t a good idea to empty it
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The "/tmp" location is a mount of the virtual file system located at "/usr/tmpDSK". The disk space usage in /tmp will count towards the partition that "/usr/tmpDSK" is stored on. Do you not see the same disk space usage when running the "du -sh" command within the /tmp directory?

    Thank you.
     
  9. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is what i m getting , i don t know what to do , i m now at 86% on my root:

    [/usr]# du -sh *
    197M bin
    8.0K etc
    4.0K games
    41M include
    135M lib
    383M lib64
    29M libexec
    3.7G local
    88K man
    12K mes_scripts
    94M sbin
    756M share
    1.3G src
    0 tmp
    4.1G tmpDSK
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It does appear the usage is from your /tmp partition, and it's just listed as a symbolic link. To note, the recommended partition setup is available at:

    Recommended Partition

    At some point, you should likely reinstall your Operating System and use a recommended partition scheme.

    Feel free to open a ticket and we can let you know where the current usage is coming from:

    Submit A Ticket

    You can post the ticket number here so we can track the issue.

    Thank you.
     
  11. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    what information you need on the ticket ? A ssh access ?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you will be presented with a screen when you open a ticket that lets you know the SSH authentication instructions so we can access your server.

    Thank you.
     
  13. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hello

    i need to reinstall my system, but before i need backups of my account.

    my only drive with space is the home directory, so i would like to set the backup there but i didn t manage to mount the backup there (i don t really know how to do this)

    My root drive is full at 91% now so it is really urgent.

    Can somebody assist me on this?
     
  14. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you reinstalling your OS on current attached HDD ? if yes then you will have to take a backup on your all account to your remote FTP server
     
  15. seizart

    seizart Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i successfully did a ftp backup.

    BUt is there everything on the ftp backup (data, database and dns infos?)
     
  16. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, If you have generated backup through cPanel scripts then cPanel backup file includes all your domains' content (including addon and subdomains), emails, FTP account and databases for the account
     
  17. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have taken cPanel backups of all users then all files, DNS zones and databases will be covered up in it. You can directly restore your backups using cpanel script.
     
Loading...

Share This Page