The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RPM list in WHM disappeared - how to fix it

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pingo, Jun 16, 2003.

  1. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't know what has happened here but choosing 'Install an RPM' shows an empty box - no rpms are listed. I tried rebuilding the RPM database but with no success. Is there a fix for this? Does anybody know how to deal with this?

    Thanks
    John
     
  2. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried /scripts/rpmup but this were returned:

    unable to retrieve file

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. stormchaser

    stormchaser Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have the exact same problem!:confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    there are heaps of threads on this issue but no definate fix

    has anyone found the answer ???
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The fix has been discussed many times. It's usually caused by your OS vendors update mechanism not being correctly configured on your server. What OS are you running? If it's RHE is up2date working? If it's CentOS/FC is yum working?
     
  6. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im running Fedora core1
     
    #6 ctbhost, Aug 20, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2005
  7. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If you don't have the option to change to another OS (CentOS, for example), have you changed your yum configuration to get updates from the Fedora Legacy Project?

    If not, you should.
     
  8. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    how do i do that
     
  9. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  10. ctbhost

    ctbhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that was the problem - updated the yum.conf file and all is ok now

    thankyou everyone
     
  11. Chelp2

    Chelp2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Hi there.

    I have tried a few things to get the rpm list updated and nothing works. I am running Fidora Core 2. I have searched the threads, tried at least 5 different suggestions and nothing works. The list is fully blank.

    Any ideas would be greatly appriciated.

    Thanks.
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    So, is yum working?
     
  13. Chelp2

    Chelp2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HI chirpy.

    As far as i can tell yum is working.

    But for some reason i can't get the rpm-s installed.

    Thanks.
     
  14. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You can check if yum is working by running:

    yum list

    You should get a stream of available packages.
     
Loading...

Share This Page