The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rpmup2 what is it and why does it require so many resources?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jmweb, Nov 19, 2003.

  1. jmweb

    jmweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what is it and why does it require so many resources? It has been running for 301:21 and is using 91.2% processor and 29.6% memory. This has been happening every 2-3 days and I always end up cancelling this process as it is bogging down the server load. Anyone know why and if their is any fixes?
     
  2. jmweb

    jmweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    anyone know why?
     
  3. jmweb

    jmweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cough..
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And then there are those of us who haven't seen this thread before. ;)

    You can be assured that any process including 'rpm' was probably started by you, the ServerAdmin, or possibly someone who has Shell access. If I remember correctly though, it is part of a Cpanel update. Remember the update doesn't always work properly and it's always a good idea to run: ps -xla and see what processes defuncted, so you can kill them off.

    I've also noticed, in the last few Edge updates, that cppop (for whatever reason) goes nuts and uses 90+ % of CPU resources and has to be manually restarted. Just another quirk of Cpanel I guess.
     
Loading...

Share This Page