The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

rsync help please, Host is being most unhelpful :(

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bashy, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. Bashy

    Bashy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi folks, i have a serious issue, please bear with me as its a bit long winded but i really do need some help please?
    This is with FDC Servers btw...

    1st off cpanel did an update not last night be the night before and the server was offline yesterday morning
    the email i got from the server was that there was bad sectors.

    So i got in touch with my host, they said can we take your server offline to run a check and i said yes please.
    They did this and said there was bad sectors and replacing the 1.4tb with a 2tb drive, this was at lunchtime yesterday.

    I asked them if they could add the new drive, install centos 6 ad cpanel and mount the old drive as /oldHD so that
    i just run the rsync, they said they would...

    When my server finally came back on oline at 8pm'ish last night they had done this

    PHP:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sdb3            1.4T  7.7G  1.3T  1% /
    tmpfs                2.0G    0  2.0G  0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sdb1            291M  58M  218M  21% /boot
    /usr/tmpDSK          4.0G  137M  3.7G  4% /tmp
    /dev/sdb3            291M  58M  218M  21% /oldHD
    /dev/sdb1            291M  58M  218M  21% /oldHD
    Why they did that i dont know, when i asked them they said

    After that ticket i checked the disk setup again and saw this

    PHP:
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sdb3             1.4T  7.7G  1.3T   1% /
    tmpfs                 2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sdb1             291M   58M  218M  21% /boot
    /dev/sdb3             1.4T  7.7G  1.3T   1% /oldHD
    /usr/tmpDSK           4.0G  138M  3.7G   4% /tmp
    So they did something, but my sites and still all offline, no accounts are on the new drive's WHM
    I was on the understanding that running rsync would copy the old drive to the new drive and be as it used to be

    I really do not know what i am doing when it comes to things like this and really need some help please, i only have 24 more hours left before they remove the old drive, i cant even see any of my backups to download them
    to be on the safe side as i didnt get the chance to do this yesterday as they just went ahead and added the new
    drive before i could do anything..

    When ever i ask FDC Servers for help with this i keep getting the reply, sorry we do not do software.....
    its a hardware issue, their drive has started failing, all i wanted in the 1st place was the old drive cloning on to the
    new drive but they wouldnt even do that even though its there fault...

    Please, please can someone help me to get my new drive running the same as the old drive with all the accounts working?

    Regards

    Martin
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should look into hiring someone from the AppCat- System Admin Services section to assist you with this.
    cPanel App Catalog
     
  3. Bashy

    Bashy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I would have but sadly funding does not allow me to do this :(
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:

    Time to get your ticket with your Hosting Provider escalated then.
     
  5. Bashy

    Bashy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    lol, they will not help, they keep saying they dont do software, even though it was a hardware fail :/
     
  6. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does the old hard drive contain a backup/cpbackup folder containing cpanel account backup archives or folders? If not and you simply have access to the old os drive and you don't know how to put things back together then unfortunately you really will need to hire someone familiar with the procedure.
     
  7. Bashy

    Bashy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi

    No it didnt contain anything like that, i finally snapped with FDC serves and told them to put the old HDD back as
    master and remove the new one, they have done now and all back to how it should be, i am going to move from them
    for the next renewal, their support is beyond a joke, they couldnt even mount the drive properly as requested
     
  8. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Glad your old disk is working, you might want to take remote backups of all your accounts now so that you have them in case something untoward happens between now and renewal
     
  9. Bashy

    Bashy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks me too :) i tried downloading them to my PC but it was only coming down at between 40 and 80kb and theres over 30gb worth, need to have a rethink...
     
  10. Aaron.Edwards

    Aaron.Edwards Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Bashy,

    Its glad that you came to know at-least now. We realized the same as well. But most issues are with FDC Chicago rather than other Branches. One example of the issue : Kernel panic error. Kernel panic error is nothing but something went wrong in the kernel which should be tweaked in order to resolve the issue. But long-back we heard from them that we would need to reinstall the OS. We fixed the issue by rebooting the server with the other kernel. LOL.
     
  11. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    FDC Servers is an umanaged provider so you are getting exactly what you paid for.
    Your hard drive failed and they replaced it and the stuck your old hard drive in so you could recover the data. They are not required to do anything else.
     
Loading...

Share This Page