Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

rsync://rsync.cpanel.net broken?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sinewy, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hey,

    apparently on all my servers when it does the rsync sections in upcp and /scripts/updatenow, rsync times out.

    rsync server is dead?
     
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    root@cara [~/test/blah]# /scripts/updatenow
    Updating /scripts...Done
    root@cara [~/test/blah]#

    Seems fine.

    Try :

    Code:
    dig rsync.cpanel.net
    and

    Code:
    traceroute rsync.cpanel.net
     
  3. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    ping/traceroutes are fine. http is fine. *only* rsync doesnt work.

    the dns resolves fine.
     
  4. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Check your firewall. You probably blocked it.
     
  5. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Well I had this problem too. I have APF firewall installed. I did this:

    Code:
    /usr/local/sbin/apf -a rsync.cpanel.net
    And it worked. Do that from SSH. If it doesn't work and if you don't have APF firewall installed, reply and I will look into some other solutions.
     
  6. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thanks for reminding me i had apf installed LOL i'll have a try later, im almost certain it is because i introduced egress filtering recently.

    whats the port for rsync? i rather enable that port all together.
     
  7. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    port 873 for rsync I believe.
     
  8. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    all working :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice