The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ruby icon missing in cPanel, only get RubyGems icon

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Metalmurphy, May 7, 2013.

  1. Metalmurphy

    Metalmurphy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    For some reason the Ruby on Rails icon on the users Cpanel is missing. I've ran the installer script with the force parameter, tried uninstalling and re installing, removing and re adding it from the Feature Manager, nothing seems to be working.

    Does anyone know how I can fix this? From what I can tell Ruby is installed and working fine.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you checked the Feature list that the account is using, via WHM, to make sure the 2 Ruby options there, are enabled?
     
  3. Metalmurphy

    Metalmurphy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Both "Install Ruby Modules" and "Ruby on Rails" are enabled.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Custom cPanel theme in use by chance?
     
  5. Metalmurphy

    Metalmurphy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Default theme. I managed to fix this problem by copying over the rails from another server I have with the same whm version and very similar configuration, however when I try to create an app with it I get a "An unknown error was encountered when creating your rails application."

    Does anyone know if this is logged somewhere with more detail?


    Thanks in advanced!
     
  6. cPanelRyan

    cPanelRyan Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Metalmurphy,

    Yes, this should show up in the cPanel error log:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    If I'm not mistaken, when you see the error "An unknown error was encountered when creating your rails application." -- this is being fired from the Cpanel/RoR.pm module and can happen in the following cases:

    An unsupported version of Rails is installed (same for Mongrel, and Ruby).

    Can you run this for me please and let me know what returns?

    Code:
    # ruby -v && rails -v && gem list --local '(mongrel|rails)'
    Now, yes, this will show you two different outputs for the Rails version; I wanted to see this because gem is using the /usr/bin/gem binary and if there was another version installed using a different binary, that can cause issues.

    Can you also send me details on exactly what it takes to reproduce the error? I won't be able to log in and see this, which is why it's very important to know what all you did to see it. I see you mentioned it happens when you try and add an app, but is this via the API or only via cPanel? Either way that's likely being thrown in a fashion like so:

    "[2012-06-22 06:46:39 -0500] warn [RoR::addapp] Encountered error in RoR::addapp: An unknown error was encountered when creating your rails application."
     
    #6 cPanelRyan, May 7, 2013
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  7. Metalmurphy

    Metalmurphy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you Ryan, but I ended up opening a support ticket and they helped me out.

    Turned out there was several problems, the gem binary was missing, rails was the wrong version and rubygem_updates was also missing.
     
  8. cPanelRyan

    cPanelRyan Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Metalmurphy,

    I am glad they were able to assist you with this. Let us know if you need anything else.
     
Loading...

Share This Page