The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ruby install script

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by psionblue, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. psionblue

    psionblue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What are the proper steps to installing ruby on rails?

    Does scripts/installruby do it any better/different that installing manually?

    -Thanks!
     
  2. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Hmmm. I would also be interested in the response to this.
     
  3. sjoerd83

    sjoerd83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    scripts/installruby seems to be broken.
    I get the error "setup.rb:52:in `require': no such file to load -- rbconfig (LoadError) from setup.rb:52"
    when the script starts to install Gems

    I would really like to see a cPanel addon for RoR (installer and account based permissions)
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hmmm, that's odd. I just ran it yesterday on a CentOS 3 system without issue.
     
  5. sjoerd83

    sjoerd83 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    running centos 4.4 on a 64 bit system.

    Im gonna try a manual installation soon.
     
  6. markfrompf

    markfrompf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You should be running, without quotes, "/scripts/installruby" <-- Note the forward slash infront of the string.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. psionblue

    psionblue Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    I recommend using that method for install Ruby on Rails. I have had no problems with that.

    From,
    Adam
     
  9. thomasconor

    thomasconor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    permission changed

    when i tried to run /scripts/installruby
    the permission was set to 644 by default . I have checked this with a couple of other cpanel servers same is the case with all. Is there any possible threat in making that script executable. Oh and i am running centos 4.4 .
    A little tip much appreciated.

    Thank you
    Tom
     
  10. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can leave it as 644 and just use the following to run.

    sh /scripts/installruby
     
  11. thomasconor

    thomasconor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sh did not work out

    This is what i got :( .
    # sh /scripts/installruby
    /scripts/installruby: line 6: syntax error near unexpected token `('
    /scripts/installruby: line 6: `BEGIN { push(@INC,'/scripts'); }'
    #

    Is it coz my perl path is not correctly configured. If yes, how to check & clear that.

    Thanks for quick reply.
    Tom
     
  12. bazzi

    bazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This will fix it:
    Code:
    perl /scripts/installruby
     
  13. thomasconor

    thomasconor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    worked

    Thanks buddy that worked for me :)

    Good Day
    Tom
     
  14. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    I believe that cPanel 11 will have a place to install it in the WHM GUI
     
  15. total hosting

    total hosting Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ruby on Rails with CPanel 11?

    Has this been confirmed? Is Ruby now installable via CPanel 11?

    Thanks!
     
    #15 total hosting, Aug 15, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2007
  16. prashantjoshi

    prashantjoshi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /script is best in cpanel

    hi

    perl /scripts/installruby


    Was worked for me also. thanks !
     
  17. tangowebs

    tangowebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know if this is an error, but I get the rubygems icon on cpanel but not the ruby on rails:
    When I execute this script, appears this message:

    Bulk updating Gem source index for: http://gems.rubyforge.org
    /usr/local/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:133: [BUG] Segmentation fault
    ruby 1.8.6 (2007-03-13) [i686-linux]

    Bulk updating Gem source index for: http://gems.rubyforge.org
    /usr/local/lib/ruby/1.8/yaml.rb:133: [BUG] Segmentation fault
    ruby 1.8.6 (2007-03-13) [i686-linux]

    Ruby - & - Rails Installed
    Configuring perl magic....Off
    Configuring php-pear magic....Off
    Configuring ruby magic....Off
    Configuring php-pecl magic....Off


    What I am doing wrong?
     
  18. thomasconor

    thomasconor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Have you tried re-installing the ruby using the default script.?
     
  19. gyftaki

    gyftaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    don't know if this is a little stupid, but i just wasted some time trying to figure out where the 'ruby on rails' icon was in cpanel. i eventually managed to find it by switching the theme of the account to 'x3' (it was on 'x').
     
Loading...

Share This Page