The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ruby on Rails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by flashweb, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In my cpanel there is no Ruby on Rails. In WHM Feature Manager, i have following enabled.

    I am using

    Cpanel Skin is x3

    I am trying to install redmine in cpanel server.

    How do i get ruby enabled in cpanel server ?
     
  2. hollering

    hollering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem; I am also trying to install Redmine. Any help is much appreciated!

    cPanel 11.25.0-S43473 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.4 i686 standard on linux
     
  3. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Got it fixed by running

     
  4. hollering

    hollering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tried that...

    Already ran /scripts/installruby

    In fact, I was able to get redmine running with a mongrel cluster, but wasn't confident in my ability to configure Apache via WHM and so started reversing my methodology and looking for the icon that still isn't there.

    Ran installruby again just in case...to no avail.
     
  5. WiredTree Joe

    WiredTree Joe Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Make sure you are using X3 as your theme.
     
  6. hollering

    hollering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel 11.25.0-S44718 - WHM 11.25.0 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.4 i686 standard on linux
     
  7. WiredTree Joe

    WiredTree Joe Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Some people are using the old X theme or a third party theme (even if it says X3 in the version section) which will cause the RoR icons to not show.
     
  8. hollering

    hollering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The only place I see a theme defined is under Basic cPanel/WHM Setup --> Default cPanel Theme, and the textbox shows "x3" (less the quotes).

    Thanks for helping me with this, by the way; this has been bothering me all week. I really want to get this resolved for the good people I'm trying to help with this.
     
  9. WiredTree Joe

    WiredTree Joe Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    You can verify your accounts theme either through List Accounts or under Modify Account. You can also tell based on the URL as it will have x3 in the URL if you are running x3 for that specific cPanel account. The setting in the Basic cPanel/WHM Setup page is for new accounts. If your cPanel account was transferred, it might be using an old theme as the restore process will not change it to x3.
     
  10. flashweb

    flashweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked ruby checked in Feature Manager ?
     
  11. hollering

    hollering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, it helps to log into cPanel instead of WHM. Turns out this was just a good ol' case of user ignorance.

    Still having some trouble getting things working right, but I have my icon so I'm off to research my other problems.
     
  12. SunShellNET

    SunShellNET Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    /scripts/installruby
    gem install rails
    gem install mongrel
    gem install fastthread
     
  13. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    May I ask what exactly the following does and how they affect my server?
    gem install mongrel
    gem install fastthread

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page