The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ruby on rails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SACHIN, Nov 14, 2006.

  1. SACHIN

    SACHIN Guest

    HI,

    how to disable and allow ruby on rails for particular website.
    as it is installed for globally we can have control to allow and disable.
    pleas let me know how to do it?
     
  2. F_A_H_D

    F_A_H_D Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    SACHIN
    great q
    yes me too want to know that
    also ... can i provide ruby or ruby on rails on shared server without give users shell access ??
     
  3. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can't really disable it from what I know. You may want to look in your httpd.cong file but thats about it. I installed it on my server and can't think of anything.


    Yes you can do this, however then you can't use Ruby on Rails. So NO. If your server is secured enough their shouldn't be a problem with you giving access to SSH. I offer SSH access for free to all shared, reseller hosting clients. I have no problems what so ever :)

    From,
    Adam
     
  4. SACHIN

    SACHIN Guest

    if we allow ssh for customer he can do this other wise he can not run ruby.
    but most of customer upload ruby files using ftp they can run too.
    i need solution soon for disable ruby for particular customer
     
  5. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Don't give them SSH access?

    From,
    Adam
     
  6. SACHIN

    SACHIN Guest

    hi.


    i am not providing them ssh but no idea how to stop this....:confused:
     
  7. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Well if they don't have SSH access then its not an app really. Its just like a FCGI script. Kinda hard to run an app with out SSH. You sure they are running an Ruby on Rails script?

    From,
    Adam
     
  8. SACHIN

    SACHIN Guest

    yes, i am sure they are running it....
    sometime client ask ssh for different reason too. it is hard to disable ruby on rails for perticulaer domain...:confused:
     
  9. HelloAdam

    HelloAdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    But you still can't disable them from running Ruby on Rails script if you have it installed on the server. You can only not give them SSH access...

    From,
    Adam
     
Loading...

Share This Page