Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Ruby on Rails

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lbwd, Aug 25, 2007.

  1. lbwd

    lbwd Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Does cPanel support Ruby on Rails right now?
    If not, that'd def. be something to add with the next version/update.

    Thanks. :D
     
  2. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Yes, it does. It's in the cpanel for v11.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AtlantisService

    AtlantisService Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    It does, but complete support will not be active until Stage 2. Stage 2 is due to come out September 12th.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jassi

    jassi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    India
    Ruby on cpanel

    Here the complete installation process :

    a) /scripts/installruby
    (unfortunately it is currently not perfect, no idea why)

    b) gem install rails

    c) gem install mongrel

    if fastthread isn't installed (normally you will be asked
    for fastthread during mongrel installation)

    d) gem install fastthread

    Don't forget to open firewall ports 3000 and 12001

    Now everthing seems to be running fine on CentOS5
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. forkrull

    forkrull Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Still doesn't start

    Thanks for the extra tips, but my apps still do not start via the cPanel
     
  6. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You will need to add /home/the-username/ruby/gems to the include path.
    You can do this by adding the following code to your script:

    $:.push("/home/username/ruby/gems")
     
  7. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Supposedly with the latest cPanel versions rails, mongrel and gems are installed automatically. I also opened port 12001, not sure why 3000? But my applications iwll not start on cpanel. I click on start and their status will stay in not running.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. msasek

    msasek Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Solution if ruby applications will not run/start from cpanel

    Hello,

    I ran into the same issue with Ruby apps not running from cpanel. The problem is the wrong version of ruby gems is installed by the cpanel ruby installer script. You just need to update to the correct version.

    From ssh command prompt do this:

    Code:
    gem install rubygems-update
    update_rubygems 
    This will get the correct version and install it. Now you will be able to run your ruby applications.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice