The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Run Installation In Background

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dan223, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. dan223

    dan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is it possible to run the cPanel installation in the background rather than keeping the SSH windows open. We install it on VPS's therefore its not fast and takes time, we recently had a network problem (on the computers that were running SSH cPanel setup) and this therefore stopped the installation and was a great hasstle.

    So therefore I was wondering if theres a way to run the cPanel install and let it run in the background without having to have SSH open all the time.
     
  2. Tymsah

    Tymsah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i dont know cpanel install running back ground but
    & this option send command go background.
    so : root@sserver [~]# cp files.rar \home\test\ &
    command run in back ground
     
  3. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    You can also use screen utility to open a new window and start installation in screen window.
     
  4. dan223

    dan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, whats the screen utility?
     
  5. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #5 WebScHoLaR, Dec 31, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2007
  6. dan223

    dan223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, I would rather not install the screen software, can anyone confirm the & will work with the cPanel install?
     
  7. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Yes, it will work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page