The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running 3rd copy of Exim under WHM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SuperBaby, May 10, 2009.

  1. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Currently I am running a second copy of Exim (using port 587) under WHM >> SERVICE MANAGER.

    One of my customers is having problems and request me to EITHER:

    1) Run this 587 port as an SSL port
    - How do I do this?

    OR

    2) Run a third copy of Exim under port 26.
    - Again, how do I do this?

    * Our ISP blocked port 25.
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should be able to use daemon_smtp_ports = 26 : 587 in the WHM Exim Config Editor - Advanced mode, in the first text box.

    Haven't confirmed whether that negates the need for a second instance of Exim but certainly wouldn't need a third. We are using 25 : 587 and only one instance of Exim.

    Would be interested to know if you test this with 26 : 587 if running a second instance of Exim is still required.
     
  3. StingRay2k01

    StingRay2k01 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is what I do, works fine. Only one instance of exim required. Saves memory :)

    Just make sure the TCP IN on your firewall allows those ports.

    daemon_smtp_ports = 25 : 27 : 587
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Stingray. Appreciate your confirmation of that.
     
  5. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    I think it is working. Thank you for such a great advice.
     
Loading...

Share This Page