The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running EDGE version? Or just wait...?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Frenck, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I'm really looking forward to use CPanel 6.

    There are some features added I really need.

    How about upgrading to the EDGE version? How is it? To much risc? How about support on this versions?

    And last but not least.. Upgrade to EDGE or not?
     
  2. jmc67

    jmc67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I tried cpanel 6 latest edge version on my test server. After initiating a reboot via whm, the server wouldn't boot. I had to send in a support ticket to have it booted locally.
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We have the latest 6 edge on two servers right now and seen no issues.
     
  4. SprintSlash

    SprintSlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I personally think cpanel 6.0.0 edge (e46 to e63 so far) is more stable than cpanel 5.3.0 r117 release
     
  5. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    It has been very stable. It fixed many known issues also.
     
  6. Esr Tek

    Esr Tek Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Running 6.o build e65, and it runs stable so far.
    Gracefull reboot has worked fine for me, so they may have fixed that ;)

    PS - Awsol I luv ur avatar :p :D
     
  7. Kyle

    Kyle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Edge installed, but its missing OS.so. Now cpanel wont start.
     
  8. Esr Tek

    Esr Tek Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    did u close WHm window so it could restart?
     
  9. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Heh Thanks :) Many people like it :)
     
  10. Kyle

    Kyle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running RedHat 7.3
     
  11. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In SSH check for the existance of the file here:

    /usr/local/cpanel/perl/Cpanel/OS.so

    There should be two files in that directory OS.so and MainIp.so
     
  12. Kyle

    Kyle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The OS.so is missing

    PHP:
    root@core [/usr/local/cpanel/perl/Cpanel]# ls -lh
    total 20k
    drwxr
    -xr-x    2 root     root         4.0k Dec 27 06:57 ./
    drwxr-xr-x   13 root     root         4.0k Dec 27 06:57 ../
    -
    rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root         8.3k Dec 27 06:56 MainIp.so*
    I think the error is stemming from this error during the install process.

    PHP:
    ==> Cpanel 5 Install Complete
    ==> Starting Cpanel 5....
    rsyncfailed to connect to rsync.cpanel.netConnection timed out
    rsync error
    error in socket IO (code 10at clientserver.c(89)
    /
    usr/local/cpanel/cpanelderror while loading shared libraries: /usr/local/cpan
    el
    /perl/Cpanel/OS.socannot open shared object fileNo such file or directory
    Maybe I can somehow re-do that rsync? seems to have failed to connect.
     
  13. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You could try the /scripts/updatenow and /scripts/upcp to see if that corrects it.
     
  14. acetate

    acetate Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope.. Still not there... Got a message from pwebtech that it is important to update to the latest version (Cpanel-6.0.0-EDGE_65-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-21.2mdk). And now I got this sh*t...

    Anyone care to let me download those two files?
     
  15. Kyle

    Kyle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Acetate,

    I fixed mine by going into WHM and selecting stable release, and then manually update.

    I then went Back into WHM and changed to Edge, and upgraded through shell and everything is working perfect now.
     
  16. acetate

    acetate Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah.. That's what I did.. I reverted back to the stable release 5.30 R117.. However too afraid to upgrade again.. =) Thanks!
     
  17. Frenck

    Frenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I've made the upgrade to 6.0 e65, no prob so far.

    Except that cpanel indicates (after the upgrade) that one site has 19 Gb of traffic this month (And the only page there is on that domain, is a blank page?!)

    Also there must me done a lot of renaming in CPanel. Almost everywhere there is still "CPanel 5". Time to do a search and replace on "CPanel 5" to "CPanel 6"? :p
     
  18. luisp

    luisp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hi
    stupid question.. where can i select between stable or edge version? :confused:

    thanks
     
  19. thomas

    thomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    WHM -> Server Setup -> Change Update Preferences
     
  20. luisp

    luisp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thanks

    I select Manual Updates only ( Edge tree ). Is this the correct? After that i click "save". But.. how do i update to cpanel 6 ?

    thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page