The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running Multiple PHP 5 Versions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kurieuo, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Kurieuo

    Kurieuo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi,

    In the past cPanel supported running both PHP4 and PHP5, and users could select which one they wanted via mime type settings and .htaccess.

    However, now there is a migration issue with PHP5.2 and now PHP5.4. I've been waiting for something similar in cPanel to run both at the same time -- so users who use legacy can use PHP5.2 and those who want the newest can run PHP 5.4...

    Is there a way compatible with cPanel to run both on Apache?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To my knowledge you either need to do this manually or use CloudLinux, which offers a an addon for this purpose. There may be other third party addons that accomplish the same.
     
    Kurieuo likes this.
  3. Kurieuo

    Kurieuo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    I have CloudLinux installed, so I'll investigate further. Thanks!
     
  4. sardelich

    sardelich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cloudlinux.php selector which first should be enabled in lve manager, then you have option for native 5.2,5.3 and 5.4. And to manually select all php modules you would use in corresponding version of php.So far it works really well...after activating it you get php version icon in users cpanel accounts so they can manually switch between versions
     
    Kurieuo likes this.
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  6. Kurieuo

    Kurieuo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Well I followed the PHP Selector install instructions -- to others just make sure you also have CageFS installed also: CloudLinux Documentation

    But now it's working - WOW! I never thought a setup like this was possible. You can even select modules to include in PHP. That's quite mind blowing. So glad I switched to CloudLinux last year.
     
  7. 000

    000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is possible users select using cPanel into PHP4 and PHP5 ???
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. botonakis

    botonakis Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    there is a free cPanel plugin here:
    /https://www.nixtree.com/ntphp.php
    Works perfect.
     
    Ashraf Kaabi likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page