Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Running remote backup only, or mount a network drive?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Paul Cullen, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Paul Cullen

Paul Cullen Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey

Ive been running a server for approximately 2 years now. Unknown to me at the time as it was a rushed job (old server had gone down) this box cannot be upgraded, its a contract thing.

So im stuck with 1tb of space. I normally have 1 incremental backup running 3 times a week. This backup is then transferred to another storage VPS once a week for redundancy.

Im now running out of space entirely. I am up to 99% and deleting what i can as emails fill up and images are uploaded on sites. I need a solution to claim back the 460 odd gig of backup i have in the /backup directory.

My thoughts where i could just setup the backups to go to an s3 instance but apparently this isnt possible? Alternatively could i mount a network drive to /backup and backup to it as if it was local?

Any advice is appreciated thanks!

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is an option in Backup Configuration:
    If I understand you correctly, you really shouldn't be using the same drive for backups that you're using for your accounts. You might consider adding a second HDD to use for local backups and duplicate that over to an external storage like you're doing now, instead.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Paul Cullen

Paul Cullen Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

Hey