The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running remote backup only, or mount a network drive?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Paul Cullen, Jun 10, 2016.

1. Paul Cullen

Paul Cullen Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey

Ive been running a server for approximately 2 years now. Unknown to me at the time as it was a rushed job (old server had gone down) this box cannot be upgraded, its a contract thing.

So im stuck with 1tb of space. I normally have 1 incremental backup running 3 times a week. This backup is then transferred to another storage VPS once a week for redundancy.

Im now running out of space entirely. I am up to 99% and deleting what i can as emails fill up and images are uploaded on sites. I need a solution to claim back the 460 odd gig of backup i have in the /backup directory.

My thoughts where i could just setup the backups to go to an s3 instance but apparently this isnt possible? Alternatively could i mount a network drive to /backup and backup to it as if it was local?

Any advice is appreciated thanks!

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is an option in Backup Configuration:
    If I understand you correctly, you really shouldn't be using the same drive for backups that you're using for your accounts. You might consider adding a second HDD to use for local backups and duplicate that over to an external storage like you're doing now, instead.

3. Paul Cullen

Paul Cullen Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

Hey