The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

running upcp or easyapache is taking ages

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by manokiss, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. manokiss

    manokiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi guys, wondering if someone else is having this problem, in some of the server after i type /scripts/upcp is taking around 20 minutes the system start sync the files from cpanel, etc. same with easyapache....i thought perhaps could be a dns issue but dns is running and the domains in the server are loading ok....also though perhaps did pick up a slow mirror from cpanel but i see the same ip/mirror in another server upcp where the upcp is running normally.

    Any idea?

    Thanx in advance!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know both /scripts/easyapache and /scripts/upcp are both time-consuming tasks. However, if you feel you have a slow mirror, feel welcome to let our technical analysts look into that for you: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  3. orware

    orware Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having a similar issue with EasyApache

    On Saturday I tried to use EasyApache and the page is just not loading the way it usually does, it just has this text:

    Checking for updates...

    Making sure we have the latest files...

    Which usually goes away in a couple of seconds but isn't anymore. WHM also shows EasyApache as running after I go to the EasyApache page:
    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/easyapache.pl

    But the above process never finishes it just stays there (this is after checking a day later). Running /scripts/easyapache from the command line seems to work alright if EasyApache isn't already running, but this does seem to be a more recent issue (and I'm using the STABLE branch).

    This never happened before and I hardly ever go into WHM to perform admin tasks, and the server is hardly stressed at all so I am a bit confused as to why it started (except for a cPanel/WHM update that may have changed things).
     
  4. switch.blade

    switch.blade Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I noticed within the last week that on both of our servers, EasyApache takes going on 20 minutes to get past "Checking for updates... Making sure we have the latest files..." and is very, very slow throughout the rest of the process. This has generally always been fairly quick until lately.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket as it might be a problem with just the update server that is closest to you.
     
  6. DonnaMalone

    DonnaMalone Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mine works fine so far, you should open a ticket just to make sure. Good luck.
     
  7. EJeanmaire

    EJeanmaire Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How much RAM are you alotted on your server? With 256 megs I was struggling to run EasyApache through WHM, and was getting stuck at the same spot as you. I did manage to successfully run EasyApache through ssh though (/scripts/easyapache).
     
  8. switch.blade

    switch.blade Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    EasyApache appears to have started working again as per usual; after about a week of slowing to a crawl. To answer your question though, we have a cluster of dedicated servers; none of which have under 8GB of RAM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page