The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Runnng PHP as FastCGI instead of DSO - Internal Server Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DReade83, May 30, 2008.

  1. DReade83

    DReade83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    I've rebuilt Apache to include FastCGI and mod_fcgi, set PHP from DSO to FastCGI, but every site gives me a "Internal Server Error" message. Switching back to DSO and we're OK.

    Is there something I've missed?

    I'm not using SuPHP or mod_security, but I am using eAccelerator and Suhosin.

    Can anyone help?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    FastCGI requires some manual configuration for it to work.
     
  3. hostvn

    hostvn Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ha Noi, Viet Nam
    What action need to bring it work ? I have same problem with Fastcgi.

    When account created, I tried to access it through http://ip/~username/ , it show 500 internal server error. But when I parked domain so I can access it normally ???
     
  4. Sindre

    Sindre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am having this problem as well. Exactly what configuration do you need to do? And in which file(s)? "some configuration" isn't really that helpful.

    There is almost no information around about running PHP in FastCGI mode with cPanel.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is very little difference in configuring FastCGI for a cPanel environment as for a non-cPanel environment. The chief difference is where to place the configuration. We recommend an include file such as found in the Includes Editor in Apache Setup within WHM.

    The other difference is you set the handler using the Configure PHP and SuExec interface in WHM to FastCGI instead of modifying files manually.
     
  6. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I'm using suphp, is there a performance gain to be had in configuring fastCGI? I've been looking for some way to gain back some of what I lost when I had to give up eaccelerator, to switch to suphp.
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    FastCGI is supposed to be faster than suPHP, although it might depend upon your particular FastCGI configuration.
     
  8. McPhil

    McPhil Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You have to edit your .htaccess file(s). If you have a memory limit in the .htaccess file you need to remove it or comment it out:

    Example:

    If this is in your .htaccess file:

    php_value memory_limit "512M"

    change to:

    #php_value memory_limit "512M"
     
    #8 McPhil, Mar 10, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page