The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Runnnnnnnnnnnnning wild!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ozzi4648, Mar 14, 2003.

  1. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Apache running wild boys! I had one user in his control panel supposedly using 96% CPU with 20 processes running cpaneld. Needless to say bloody Squirrelmail returned PAGE NOT FOUND and my server was hitting 1.9 load. Now if this is normal please inform me otherwise because this is just crap! How can one user be running 20 processes at 96% cpu useage while logged into his control panel on port 2082? Please explain the logic? My bloody machines is now swapping at 3% because of the memory exhaustion and i just REBOOTED YESTERDAY because of this same reason. 6% swapping after 90days+ uptime on a box that has over 1.5 gigs of memory? How can this be possible? So in other words it doesnt matter how much memory you have, when apache runs WILD it will uses all your memory till your box starts the swapping process and if you know anything about Apache this is taboo. My uptime is 1day 20hrs and my box is already swapping again. INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    #1 ozzi4648, Mar 14, 2003
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2003
  2. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    My users are complaining that they cant use their control panels, probably because of the above fiasco. So i did this

    Stopping Cpanel6 services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cpanel6 log services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cpanel6 Chat services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Melange Chat services: [FAILED]
    Stopping InterChange services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cpanel3 ssl services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Web Host Manger services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cluster Management services: [FAILED]
    root@srv08 [/home/detmedia/www]# /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 start
    Starting Cpanel6 services: [ OK ]
    Starting WebMail services: [ OK ]
    Starting pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel6 Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting Melange Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting InterChange services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel6 ssl services: [ OK ]
    Starting Web Host Manager services: [ OK ]
    root@srv08 [/home/detmedia/www]#

    See this?
     
  3. mesranet

    mesranet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mine too. 40% - 60% CPU resources everytime users logon to their cpanel ...so bad ...hmmmm
     
  4. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    glad I found this thread :-( i thought it was just me.
     
  5. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have see this happen on our server also but usually it lasts only a few seconds, it seems to be a common thing for loads when users check stats, login to cpanel and a few other functions, but a few seconds should not be a problem I would have thought.

    For how long are your loads climbing to those numbers?
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I only have a few sites on my server at the moment and my cpu used to almost never go over 0.2, but the last few days I've seen it going over 1 frequently and there are no new accounts yet. I checked by logging into cpanel while watching and it went almost to 1. Mine stays at that load for about a minute.

    Something changed. :confused:
     
  7. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    Mine last 20min. I even kicked the user out of their control panel. They logged back in and 10 - 20 processes running at once.
     
  8. ckevin

    ckevin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i also got this problem, hope it can be fixed soon, mine machines restart apache over 3 times a day, CPU load can exceed 10! :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page